Skip to main content

Preview: Traffic's 1967 to 1974 Catalog to Be Issued in a Vinyl Box Set

This May UMe/Island celebrates Traffic's influential legacy with this stunning limited-edition Island records studio collection.

Inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 2004, Traffic came to prominence in the late 1960s with a distinctive sound which quickly earned them U.K. Top Ten hits in the shape of "Paper Sun" and "Hole In My Shoe" before releasing their first album, Mr. Fantasy in December 1967. Formed earlier that year, Traffic comprised vocalist/organist Steve Winwood (still only 18 years old at the time); drummer/singer Jim Capaldi; singer/guitarist Dave Mason and reed player Chris Wood. Alongside contemporaries like Cream and the Jimi Hendrix Experience, Traffic set about shifting the boundaries of rock music, experimenting with sound and incorporating elements of blues, soul and jazz to create their own unique oeuvre. A key part of their story is their retreat to a communal stone cottage in Berkshire, where they took inspiration from their natural surroundings and worked without distraction, writing and rehearsing the material for the first two albums, Mr. Fantasy and Traffic (1968).

Always revolving around the three core members, Steve Winwood, Jim Capaldi and Chris Wood, Traffic had as few as three and as many as seven members between the years 1967 to 1974 but despite all the personnel changes and shifts, they remained a force to be reckoned with until deciding to split in 1974, having given their final performance on August 31st and releasing their last album, When the Eagle Flies.

Boasting all six studio albums recorded for the Island Records, the LPs have been remastered from the original tapes and presented in their original and highly collectable 'first' Island pressing form (gatefold sleeves, pink eye labels etc). The set also includes a related and super rare facsimile promo poster for each album.

Mr Fantasy LP
  • Side A
    • Heaven Is In Your Mind
    • Berkshire Poppies
    • House For Everyone
    • No Face, No Name, No Number
    • Dear Mr. Fantasy
  • Side B
    • Dealer
    • Utterly Simple
    • Coloured Rain
    • Hope I Never Find Me There
    • Giving To You

Traffic LP
  • Side A
    • You Can All Join In
    • Pearly Queen
    • Don't Be Sad
    • Who Knows What Tomorrow May Bring
    • Feelin' Alright?
  • Side B
    • Vagabond Virgin
    • Forty Thousand Headmen
    • Cryin' To Be Heard
    • No Time To Live
    • Means To An End

John Barleycorn Must Die LP
  • Side A
    • Glad
    • Freedom Rider
    • Empty Pages
  • Side B
    • Stranger To Himself
    • John Barleycorn
    • Every Mother's Son

Shoot Out At The Fantasy Factory LP
  • Side A
    • Shoot Out At The Fantasy Factory
    • Roll Right Stones
  • Side B
    • Evening Blue
    • Tragic Magic
    • (Sometimes I Feel So) Uninspired

The Low Spark Of High Heeled Boys LP
  • Side A
    • Hidden Treasure
    • The Low Spark Of High Heeled Boys
    • Rock 'n' Roll Stew
  • Side B
    • Many A Mile To Freedom
    • Light Up Or Leave Me Alone
    • Rainmaker

When The Eagle Flies LP
  • Side A
    • Something New
    • Dream Gerrard
    • Graveyard People
  • Side B
    • Walking In The Wind
    • Memories Of A Rock N' Rolla
    • Love
    • When The Eagle Flies