Skip to main content

Preview: Buck Owens' Early 70's Singles Compiled on New Set Plus 21 Original Vinyl Titles Unearthed

Omnivore Recordings, in conjunction with the Buck Owens Estate, will release Buck Owens and the Buckaroos’ The Complete Capitol Singles: 1971–1975 on May 31, 2019, available on CD and Digital.

The set is the third and final volume in a series chronicling every one of Buck’s historic Capitol Records singles from the ’50s, ’60s, and ’70s. Taken from the original stereo masters, The Complete Capitol Singles: 1971–1975 collects the A- and B-side to all 21 singles from that period, including nine Top Ten hits, in their original, chronological form.

Newly remastered, and featuring liner notes from author and Bakersfield country historian Scott B. Bomar, The Complete Capitol Singles: 1971–1975 presents the golden age of Buck Owens in an entirely new way.

“One of the good things that happened in 1970 was that I finally had my studio up and running in Bakersfield,” said Owens of that period. “If I was in the mood to record, I’d just call the guys and tell ’em when to be there. I didn’t have to deal with having to find out when Capitol’s studio would be available anymore, or go to the trouble of driving down to L.A. every time we were going to record, or knowing that every minute I was recording at Capitol it was costing me money. It was still costing me money to record at my own studio, of course, but at least I wasn’t billing myself at an hourly rate that would be charged against my record royalties like Capitol had done to me all those years.”

From Bomar’s liner notes: “Taken together, [these sides] represent a period of experimentation that reflects Owens’ willingness to adapt to changing times and commercial tastes. The music presented here includes some pop-inflected country, some bluegrass, some novelty songs, some slickly polished productions, and some stripped-down ballads. In Buck’s chest, however, beat a hard-driving honky-tonk heart that was never too far from the surface. The elements we associate with Buck’s 1960s period are on display here, too. While his ’70s output doesn’t often earn the same attention as his earlier work, there is much from this period that should be celebrated.”

These are the records that made Buck Owens a legend and defined the Bakersfield Sound. It’s history. It’s The Complete Capitol Singles: 1971–1975.

Track Listing:

Disc One
1. Bridge Over Troubled Water
2. (I’m Goin’) Home
3. Ruby (Are You Mad)
4. Heartbreak Mountain
5. Rollin’ in My Sweet Baby’s Arms
6. Corn Likker
7. Too Old to Cut the Mustard – Buck & Buddy
8. Wham Bam – Buck & Buddy
9. Santa’s Gonna Come in a Stagecoach – Buck Owens & Susan Raye
10. One of Everything You Got – Buck Owens & Susan Raye
11. I’ll Still Be Waiting for You
12. Full Time Daddy
13. Made in Japan
14. Black Texas Dirt
15. Looking Back to See – Buck Owens & Susan Raye
16. Cryin’ Time – Buck Owens & Susan Raye
17. You Ain’t Gonna Have Ol’ Buck to Kick Around No More
18. I Love You So Much It Hurts
19. In the Palm of Your Hand
20. Get Out of Town Before Sundown
21. Ain’t It Amazing, Gracie
22. The Good Old Days (Are Here Again)

Disc Two
1. The Good Old Days (Are Here Again) – Buck Owens & Susan Raye
2. When You Get to Heaven (I’ll Be There) – Buck Owens & Susan Raye
3. Arms Full of Empty
4. Songwriter’s Lament
5. Big Game Hunter
6. That Loving Feeling
7. On the Cover of the Music City News
8. Stony Mountain West Virginia
9. (It’s a) Monster’s Holiday
10. Great Expectations (B-Side Version)
11. Great Expectations (A-Side Version)
12. Let the Fun Begin
13. 41st Street Lonely Hearts’ Club
14. Weekend Daddy
15. Love Is Strange – Buck Owens & Susan Raye
16. Sweethearts in Heaven – Buck Owens & Susan Raye
17. The Battle of New Orleans
18. Run Him to the Round House Nellie (You Might Corner Him There)
19. Country Singer’s Prayer
20. Meanwhile Back at the Ranch

Also on May 31, exclusively from the Omnivore Recordings web store, 21 original, vintage, sealed Buck Owens LPs will be made available for sale. The stock comes directly from Bakersfield and the collection of Buck Owens. The LPs span much of Buck’s career starting withTogether Again/My Heart Skips A Beat from 1964 to Act Naturally released in 1989.

Quantities are limited and the LPs will be sold first come, first served.

Complete listing:

  • Under Your Spell Again (1961)
  • Together Again/My Heart Skips a Beat (1964)
  • I Don’t Care (1964)
  • The Best of Buck Owens (1964)
  • The Instrumental Hits of Buck Owens and His Buckaroos (1965)
  • Christmas With Buck Owens and His Buckaroos (1965)
  • I’ve Got A Tiger by the Tail (1965)
  • Open Up Your Heart (1966)
  • Carnegie Hall Concert (1966)
  • Dust on Mother’s Bible (Songs of Faith and Religion)(1966)
  • Roll Out the Red Carpet (1966)
  • Your Tender Loving Care (1967)
  • It Takes People Like You to Make People Like Me (1967)
  • The Best of Buck Owens Vol. 2 (1968)
  • Sweet Rosie Jones (1968)
  • I’ve Got You on My Mind Again (1968)
  • Christmas Shopping (1968)
  • 41st Street Lonely Heart’s Club (1975)
  • Best of Buck Owens Vol. 6 (1976)
  • Hot Dog! (1988)
  • Act Naturally (1989)

This is an incredible opportunity to own a piece of country music history direct from the collection of the artist! (Please note, because these are sealed, vintage stock, and anomalies may exist, there will be no returns or replacements).