Skip to main content

Preview: The Goo Goo Dolls to Release Live Album "The Audience is This Way"

Artist: Goo Goo Dolls
Title: The Audience is This Way
Release Date: July 21, 2018 (CD), August 24, 2018 (Digital)
Label: Warner Bros
  • CD
  • Limited Edition Vinyl
  • Digital
Multi-platinum, four-time Grammy-nominated band Goo Goo Dolls today announced The Audience is This Way, a 10-track live album recorded on the band's recent tours. The Audience is This Way is due for release on July 21, 2018 via Warner Bros. Records and will be physically available as an exclusive limited edition black vinyl at indie-retail stores nationally as part of Record Store Day Crawl. There are only 3,000 copies made of this pressing. The album will also be available for digital download and streaming on August 24.

The Audience is This Way was recorded by John Schimke, and was produced and mixed by John Rzeznik, Chris Szczech and Brad Fernquist. Filled with timeless hits such as "Iris", "So Alive" and "Slide", the album boasts never-before released live concert recordings of ten tracks spanning their full discography.

Recent praise for the band's live show include: "Rzeznik and Takac may have grown older, but they haven't outgrown their love of playing music for people" (The Oakland Press), "[Rzeznik] sounded like the recordings his fans know and love; beyond his funnyman stage presence, he's still an ace balladeer" (The Post Standard), "The energy and dynamic balance between Reznik and Takac provided a glimpse into the formula that has propelled the group to their success over the last three decades" (The Chattanoogan).

Last month the band announced that they would be embarking on the SiriusXM Presents: Goo Goo Dolls - Dizzy Up The Girl 20th Anniversary Tour, in celebration of the 20th anniversary of their iconic album, Dizzy Up The Girl. The band will be performing the record in its entirety at each show, followed by an additional set packed with surprises and more of their many unforgettable hits. Please see below for a full list of dates.

Track List:
  • Long Way Down
  • Slide
  • Home
  • The Pin
  • January Friend
  • Big Machine
  • So Alive
  • Better Days
  • Iris
  • Broadway
Tour Dates:
  • Sun., September 30 - Phoenix, AZ - The Van Buren
  • Tues., October 2 - Houston, TX - House of Blues
  • Wed., October 3 - Dallas, TX - House of Blues
  • Fri., October 5 - Saint Louis, MO - The Pageant
  • Sat., October 6 - Indianapolis, IN - Old National Centre
  • Sun., October 7 - Nashville, TN - Ryman Auditorium
  • Tues., October 9 - Atlanta, GA - The Tabernacle< 
  • Wed., October 10 - Charlotte, NC - The Fillmore Charlotte
  • Fri., October 12 - Philadelphia, PA - The Fillmore
  • Sat., October 13 - Washington, DC - The Anthem
  • Mon., October 15 - New York, NY - Beacon Theatre
  • Tues., October 16 - Red Bank, NJ - Count Basie Theatre
  • Wed., October 17 - Boston, MA - House of Blues
  • Fri., October 19 - Buffalo, NY - Shea's Performing Arts Center
  • Sat., October 20 - Buffalo, NY - Shea's Performing Arts Center
  • Sun., October 21 - Toronto, ON - Rebel Complex
  • Tues., October 23 - Detroit, MI - The Fillmore
  • Wed., October 24 - Grand Rapids, MI - 20 Monroe Live
  • Fri., October 26 - Chicago, IL - Chicago Theater
  • Sat., October 27 - Minneapolis, MN - State Theater
  • Sun., October 28 - Kansas City, MO - Uptown Theater
  • Tues., October 30 - Denver, CO - Paramount Theater
  • Thurs., November 1 - Salt Lake City, UT - The Depot
  • Sat., November 3 - Seattle, WA - The Paramount THeater
  • Thurs., November 8 - San Diego, CA - House of Blues
  • Fri., November 9 - Los Angeles, CA - Hollywood Palladium
  • Sat., November 18 - Las Vegas, NV - The Joint