Skip to main content

John Prine, Lee Ann Womack and Mary Gauthier Up For Americana Awards

by VVN Music

The Americana Music Association has announced the nominees for the 2018 Americana Music Awards.

Unlike the myriad of categories that populate most other music awards presentations, the Americana Music Awards concentrate on just six categories, Album, Song, Artist, Duo/Group, Emerging Act and Instrumentalist.

Jason Isbell leads with four nominations for Album (The Nashville Sound), Artist, Duo/Group and Song ("If We Were Vampires").

Margo Price and Brandi Carlile each have three nominations Price is up for Album (All American Made), Artist and Song ("A Little Pain") while Carlile was nominated for Album (By the Way, I Forgive You), Artist and Song ("The Joke").

Among veteran artists, Mary Gauthier is up for Album of the Year for Rifles & Rosary Beads, John Pine for Artist of the Year, and Lee Ann Womack for Song of the Year ("All the Trouble").

The awards will be held on September 12 at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville.

The nominees:

Album of the Year
  • All American Made, Margo Price, Produced by Jeremy Ivey, Alex Munoz, Margo Price and Matt Ross-Spang
  • By The Way, I Forgive You, Brandi Carlile, Produced by Dave Cobb and Shooter Jennings
  • The Nashville Sound, Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit, Produced by Dave Cobb
  • Rifles & Rosary Beads, Mary Gauthier, Produced by Neilson Hubbard
Artist of the Year
  • Brandi Carlile
  • Jason Isbell
  • Margo Price 
  • John Prine
Duo/Group of the Year
  • I'm With Her
  • Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit
  • Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real
  • Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats
Emerging Act of the Year
  • Courtney Marie Andrews 
  • Tyler Childers
  • Anderson East
  • Lilly Hiatt
Song of the Year
  • “A Little Pain,” Margo Price, Written by Margo Price
  • “All The Trouble,” Lee Ann Womack, Written by Waylon Payne, Lee Ann Womack and Adam Wright
  • “If We Were Vampires,” Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit, Written by Jason Isbell
  • “The Joke,” Brandi Carlile, Written by Brandi Carlile, Dave Cobb, Phil Hanseroth and Tim Hanseroth
Instrumentalist of the Year
  • Daniel Donato
  • Brittany Haas
  • Jerry Pentecost
  • Molly Tuttle