Skip to main content

Chicago Releasing Their Soundstage Performance of "Chicago II", Special Collectors Edition

by VVN Music

This year, Chicago is spending all their time saluting their classic album Chicago II.

Already out is the Stephen Wilson remix of the album which was released in January via Rhino.

Next up, on June 29, is Chicago II: Live on Soundstage. Released on a single CD and a CD/DVD set, the album features a complete performance of the album as recorded at Chicago's WTTW studio. The band currently performs Chicago II in its entirety and will continue to play the album throughout the year and on their upcoming tour with REO Speedwagon, followed by a set of their greatest hits.

Originally released in January 1970 as Chicago (and later dubbed Chicago II), the album was a major breakthrough for the band and features some of the group’s biggest hits, including the Top 10 singles: “25 Or 6 To 4,” “Make Me Smile” and “Colour My World.”

Nominated for three Grammy awards and certified double-platinum, the album is also known for several extended song cycles: “Ballet For A Girl In Buchannon” by trombonist/composer James Pankow; “Memories Of Love” by guitarist Terry Kath and composer Peter Matz; and “It Better End Soon” by keyboardist/vocalist/composer Robert Lamm. Robert Lamm and James Pankow have also become the latest inductees of the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2017.

The track list:
  • Movin’ In
  • The Road
  • Poem For The People
  • In The Country
  • Wake Up Sunshine
  • Ballet For a Girl in Buchannon
    • Make Me Smile
    • So Much to Say, So Much to Give
    • Anxiety's Moment
    • West Virginia Fantasies
    • Color My World
    • To Be Free
    • Now More Than Ever
  • Fancy Colors
  • Memories of Love
  • It Better End Soon
    • 1st Movement
    • 2nd Movement
    • 4th Movement
  • Where Do We Go From Here
  • 25 Or 6 To 4
Then, on August 31, comes the new Collector's Edition of Chicago II which will include the Soundstage performance on CD and DVD and the Steven Wilson mix of the original album on both CD and double-LP.