Skip to main content

Steven Tyler, Joe Perry, Flaming Lips, Cyndi Lauper, They Might Be Giants, Imogen Heap Up For Outer Critics Circle Awards

by VVN Music

The theater community in New York is knee deep in awards announcements at the moment with the nominees for the Outer Circle Awards being announced on Wednesday (April 25).

The Outer Circle Awards honor plays and musicals both on and off-Broadway with nominations made by a seven person committee.  For 2018, SpongeBob SquarePants leads all shows with eleven nominations followed by Harry Potter and the Cursed Child with ten and it's these two musicals that have big ties back to the popular music community and veteran artists in particular.

It's all happening in the category of Outstanding New Score (Broadway or Off-Broadway) where veteran Imogen Heap is nominated for writing the music for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. The show opened in London's West End in 2016 and opened on Broadway just three nights ago (April 22).

The rest of the major artists are all responsible for the music of SpongeBob SquarePants with the nomination list naming:
  • Yolanda Adams
  • Steven Tyler & Joe Perry of Aerosmith
  • Sara Bareilles
  • Jonathan Coulton
  • Alex Ebert of Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros
  • The Flaming Lips
  • Lady Antebellum
  • Cyndi Lauper & Rob Hyman
  • John Legend
  • Panic! At the Disco
  • Plain White T’s
  • They Might Be Giants
  • T.I.
  • Domani & Lil’C
  • Jonathan Coulton
  • Tom Kitt
Each of the songwriters created at least one song for the production while the tune "No Control", written by David Bowie and Brian Eno, did not get the two songwriters a nod as it was not written specifically for the show, having been included on Bowie's 1995 album Outside

SpongeBob SquarePants opened on December 4, 2017.  

The other three nominations in the category are David Friedman and Peter Kellogg for Desperate Measures, Quiara Alegria Hudes for Miss You Like Hell and Kristen-Anderson Lopez and Robert Lopez for Frozen

Up next are the nominations for the Drama Desk Awards (announced tomorrow, April 26) and the Tony Awards (Tuesday, May 1).