Skip to main content

Listen: Bob Dylan's Song For the LGBTQ Community

by Paul Cashmere, Noise11

Bob Dylan has released a song for the LGBT community. ‘He’s Funny That Way’ was recorded as part of the six-track EP Universal Love.

Universal Love also features songs by Kesha, St Vincent, Ben Gibbard, Valerie June and Kele Okereke.

Dylan’s song is a take on the 1929 song ‘She’s Funny That Way’ with the lyric varied to give the song a gay perspective. The project was funded by MGM Resorts to be used as wedding anthems for same-sex couples.

Meantime, Dylan’s never ending tour is currently in Europe until the end of April and he does have a date for the Fuji Rock Festival in Japan in July. Could there possibly be an Australian tour after that?

Dylan last toured Australia in 2014. While dates have been pencilled in for this tour they have kept being moved as US and European dates have been added. However, the Japanese trip is often the prelude to an Australian tour because the time-zones line up for promoters.

Dylan traditionally does well in Australia, always playing sell-out tours around the country. The 2014 tour was met with rave reviews so getting fans along for 2018 tour won’t be an issue. It all comes down to timing and the time looks right.

Bob Dylan set list, April 7, 2018, Florence

Main Set
  • Things Have Changed (from Wonder Boys soundtrack, 2000)
  • Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right (from The Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan, 1963)
  • Highway 61 Revisited (from Highway 61 Revisited, 1965)
  • Simple Twist of Fate (from Blood On The Tracks, 1975)
  • Duquesne Whistle (from Tempest, 2012)
  • Melancholy Mood (from Fallen Angels, 2016)
  • Honest With Me (from Love and Theft, 2001)
  • Tryin’ to Get to Heaven (from Time Out of Mind, 1997)
  • Once Upon A Time (from Triplicate, 2017)
  • Pay in Blood (from Tempest, 2012)
  • Tangled Up in Blue (from Blood On The Tracks, 1975)
  • Early Roman Kings (from Tempest, 2012)
  • Desolation Row (from Highway 61 Revisited, 1965)
  • Love Sick (from Time Out of Mind, 1997)
  • Autumn Leaves (from Shadow In The Night, 2015)
  • Thunder on the Mountain (from Modern Times, 2006)
  • Soon After Midnight (from Tempest, 2012)
  • Long and Wasted Years (from Tempest, 2012)
  • Blowin’ in the Wind (from The Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan, 1963)
  • Ballad of a Thin Man (from Highway 61 Revisited, 1965)