Skip to main content

Preview: "Roxy: Tonight's the Night Live" - New Neil Young Archive Release

Artist: Neil Young
Title: Roxy: Tonight's the Night Live
Release Date:
  • April 21, 2018 (Record Store Day exclusive)
  • April 24, 2018 (General release)
Label: Warner Brothers
  • CD
  • 2-LP Vinyl
  • Digital
Neil Young will release one of his most sought after shows exclusively for Record Store Day.

The 2-LP special edition will include an exclusive print of the band on-stage at the Roxy.  The standard edition album along with CD and digital release will be out three days later on Tuesday, April 24.

Roxy: Tonight's the Night Live was recorded between September 20 and 22 at the Roxy on the Sunset Strip with Ben Keith (pedal steel, slide guitars, vocals), Billy Talbot (bass), Ralph Molina (drums, vocals) and Nils Lofgren (piano, vocals, guitars). Young talks about the show:

In 1973, I drove my 1947 Buick Roadmaster, Black Queen, to LA from the North, accompanied by Ben Keith. Once we made it to Hollywood, we met up with Billy Talbot and Ralph Molina. Nils Lofgren joined us and we drove to Studio Instrument Rentals on Santa Monica Blvd. David Briggs, producer, and Johnny Talbot, equipment manager, met us there. They had blasted a hole in the wall to connect the green board which we had set up (an old tube board I had purchased that had been used recording many historic sessions from the Beach Boys' Pet Sounds to Monterey Pop Festival, among many others) next to the rehearsal hall. Our 16-track analog tape machine was set up next to the board. We had finished recording TTN and decided to celebrate with a gig at a new club opening on the Sunset Strip, the ROXY. We went there and recorded for a few nights, opening the ROXY. We really knew the Tonight's the Night songs so we just played them again, the album, top to bottom, two sets a night for a few days. We had a great time.ROXY -Tonight's the Night Live is the live recording we made. There is a little Super 8 footage of us driving to the gig in the Black Queen one of those nights.

Produced by Young and the late David Briggs, these resultant recordings were mixed by John Nowland with updated post-production and mastering by John Hanlon - along with Chris Bellman - at Bernie Grundman Mastering using the original analog master tape source. Close your eyes and you'll be right there in that dark, smoky, 500 capacity room in West, L.A. on a hot summer night in 1973.

Track List:
  • Tonight's The Night
  • Mellow My Mind
  • World On A String
  • Speakin' Out
  • Albuquerque
  • New Mama
  • Roll Another Number (For The Road)
  • Tired Eyes
  • Tonight's The Night
  • Walk On