Skip to main content

Preview: Roger Daltrey Announces First Album Since 1992

Artist: Roger Daltrey
Title: As Long As I Have You
Release Date: June 1, 2018
  • CD
  • Digital
For the first time since 1992's Rocks in the Head, Roger Daltrey is releasing a solo album.

As Long As I Have You will be released on June 1 with production by Dave Eringa with whom he worked on his collaboration with Wilko Johnson, Going Back Home.

Pete Townshend joins Daltrey on seven of the albums tracks while Mick Talbot (Dexys, Style Council) and Sean Genockey (Suede, Proclaimers) also appear.

While there are a number of originals included, Daltrey has also covered songs that have influenced him throughout his life including Stevie Wonder's "You Haven't Done Nothing", Nick Cave's "Into My Arms" and the title track which was originally recorded by Garnett Mimms.

Daltrey commented on the album, saying "This is a return to the very beginning, to the time before Pete [Townshend] started writing our songs, to a time when we were a teenage band playing soul music to small crowds in church halls. That’s what we were, a soul band. And now, I can sing soul with all the experience you need to sing it. Life puts the soul in.

“I’ve always sung from the heart but when you’re 19, you haven’t had the life experience with all its emotional trials and traumas that you have by the time you get to my age. You carry all the emotional bruises of life and when you sing these songs, those emotions are in your voice. You feel the pain of a lost love. You feel it and you sing it and that’s soul. For a long time, I’ve wanted to return to the simplicity of these songs, to show people my voice, a voice they won’t have heard before. It felt like the right time. It’s where I am, looking back to that time, looking across all those years but also being here, now, in the soulful moment."

Track List:
  • As Long As I Have You
  • How Far
  • Where Is A Man To Go?
  • Get On Out Of The Rain
  • I’ve Got Your Love
  • Into My Arms
  • You Haven’t Done Nothing
  • Out Of Sight, Out Of Mind
  • Certified Rose
  • The Love You Save