Skip to main content

Preview: It's Another 70's & 80's Soundtrack Extravaganza With "Ready Player One"

Artist: Various Artists
Title: Ready Player One Soundtrack
Release Date: April 6, 2018
Label: WaterTower Music
  • CD
  • Digital
Two of the biggest soundtracks of the last decade had nothing to do with symphonic background music or modern music.  They were showcases for the music of the 70's. 

Guardians of the Galaxy: Awesome Mix volumes 1 and 2 are now chart perennials with the music from the first film coming up on its fourth anniversary of release. They follow in the grand tradition of earlier soundtracks like American Graffiti, showcasing music from a specific era of rock music.

Steven Spielberg's new film, Ready Player One, opens tonight and includes a slightly wider playlist of well known music ranging from 1971's "Just My Imagination" by the Temptations to Bruce Springteen's 1985 b-side "Stand By It" with the music of Prince, Blondie, New Order, the Bee Gees and Hall & Oates in between. Plus, like Guardians of the Galaxy, the film is set in the future where, evidently, the inhabitants listen to late-century pop and rock like it were classical music. 

Billboard recently revealed the track list. 

Track List:
  • I Wanna Be Your Lover - Prince
  • Everybody Wants To Rule The World - Tears For Fears
  • Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me) - The Temptations
  • Stand On It - Bruce Springsteen
  • One Way Or Another - Blondie
  • Can't Hide Love - Earth, Wind & Fire
  • Blue Monday - New Order
  • Stayin' Alive - Bee Gees
  • We're Not Gonna Take It - Twisted Sister
  • You Make My Dreams - Daryl Hall & John Oates
  • Pure Imagination - Bryan Nguyen feat. Merethe Soltvedt