Skip to main content

Preview: Buck Owens' Mid-Career Recordings Being Gathered on New Set

Artist: Buck Owens
Title: The Complete Capitol Singles, 1967-1970
Release Date: May 11, 2018
Label: Omnivore Recordings
  • 2-CDs
  • Digital
Omnivore Recordings, in conjunction with the Buck Owens Estate, will release Buck Owens and the Buckaroos’ The Complete Capitol Singles: 1967–1970. Street date for the set, available in CD and Digital, is May 11, 2018.

This is Omnivore’s second in a series chronicling every one of Buck’s historic Capitol singles from the ’50s, ’60, and ’70s. Taken from the original mono and stereo masters, The Complete Capitol Singles: 1967–1970 collects the A- and B-side to all 18 singles from that period, including 14 Top Ten hits, in their original, chronological form. The set was produced and compiled by Grammy-nominated producer, Patrick Milligan and mastered from original analog master tapes by Grammy-winning engineer, Michael Graves at Osiris Studio.

Owens, the best known proponent of the Bakersfield sound of country, boasted a total of 21 No. 1 country hits, most featuring Buckaroos guitarist Don Rich. In 1969, Owens came to the attention of millions as co-host, with Roy Clark, of the TV series Hee-Haw (the Buckaroos were the show’s initial house band). When Rich died in 1974, Owens took time away from music until he performed with musical disciple Dwight Yoakam, whose own music was modeled after Owens’ Bakersfield sound. Owens also operated the Crystal Palace venue in Bakersfield, which continues to present live music to this day. 
Newly remastered, and featuring liner notes from Scott B. Bomar, The Complete Capitol Singles: 1967–1970 presents the golden age of Buck Owens in an entirely new way.

According to Owens: “The reason my Capitol records sounded the way they did — real heavy on the treble — was because I knew most people were going to be listening to ’em on their AM car radios. At the time, nobody else was doing anything like that, but it just seemed like common sense to me. And it was one more reason that you knew it was a Buck Owens record as soon as it came on the radio — because it just didn’t sound like those other records.”

Annotator Bomar adds: “The latter part of the 1960s represents Buck Owens’ second act. His recordings from that era are brief snapshots of a man in transition. Buck and his Buckaroos had undeniably found a winning formula, but he was growing concerned that his signature sound was in danger of growing stale and predictable. For the rest of the decade he would boldly venture into new territory that likely stretched the boundaries of what some fans might have expected.”

These are the records that made Buck Owens a legend and defined the Bakersfield Sound. It’s history. 

Track List:

Disc One
  • Sam’s Place
  • Don’t Ever Tell Me Goodbye
  • Your Tender Loving Care
  • What A Liar I Am
  • It Takes People Like You (To Make People Like Me)
  • You Left Her Lonely Too Long
  • How Long Will My Baby Be Gone
  • Everybody Needs Somebody
  • Sweet Rosie Jones
  • Happy Times Are Here Again
  • Let The World Keep On A Turnin’ – Buck Owens & Buddy Alan
  • I’ll Love You Forever And Ever – Buck Owens & Buddy Alan
  • I’ve Got You On My Mind Again
  • That’s All Right With Me (If It’s All Right With You)
  • Christmas Shopping
  • One Of Everything You Got
  • Things I Saw Happening At The Fountain On The Plaza When I Was Visiting Rome Or Amore
  • Turkish Holiday 
Disc Two
  • Who’s Gonna Mow Your Grass
  • There’s Gotta Be Some Changes Made
  • Johnny B. Goode
  • Maybe If I Close My Eyes (It’ll Go Away)
  • Tall Dark Stranger
  • Sing That Kind Of Song
  • Big In Vegas
  • White Satin Bed
  • We’re Gonna Get Together – Buck Owens & Susan Raye
  • Everybody Needs Somebody – Buck Owens & Susan Raye
  • Togetherness – Buck Owens & Susan Raye
  • Fallin’ For You – Buck Owens & Susan Raye
  • The Kansas City Song
  • I’d Love To Be Your Man
  • The Great White Horse – Buck Owens & Susan Raye
  • Your Tender Loving Care – Buck Owens & Susan Raye
  • I Wouldn’t Live In New York City (If They Gave Me The Whole Dang Town)
  • No Milk And Honey In Baltimore