Skip to main content

Set List: Toto Opens Their 40 Trips Around the Sun Tour in Helsinki

by VVN Music

Toto are celebrating forty years together with their 40 Trips Around the Sun Tour in support of their new best-of set of the same name that was released last Friday.

Toto actually formed in 1976 but didn't release their self-titled debut album, which included their first hit, Hold the Line, until 1978.

The current lineup of the band includes original members Steve Lukather, David Paich and Steve Porcaro along with Joseph Williams, who first joined in 1986 and has been currently with them since 2010. The tour band also includes Lenny Castro, Shannon Forrest, Warren Ham and Shem Von Schroeck.

The current tour is broken down into three sections plus an encore. The first set opens with nine songs before breaking down for a seven-song acoustic set. The band returns for eight more songs in the second half before returning for an encore.

The set list features songs from all of Toto's pre-2000 albums along with the two new tracks from their 40 Trips Around the Sun album. There are also performances of songs co-written by Porcaro ("Human Nature" (Michael Jackson)) and Paich, Lukather, Porcaro and David Hungate ("Miss Sun" (Boz Scaggs)) and a cover of George Harrison's "While My Guitar Gently Weeps".

What is missing from the set list are a few of Toto's best known songs. While they performed the now standard "Rosanna" and "Africa" along with their first hit, "Hold the Line", three additional major songs were missing from the show, "99", "I Won't Hold You Back" and "I'll Be Over You".

The set list:

Set 1
  • Alone (from 40 Trips Around the Sun, 2018)
  • Hold the Line (from Toto, 1978)
  • Lovers in the Night (from Toto IV, 1982)
  • Spanish Sea (from 40 Trips Around the Sun, 2018)
  • I Will Remember (from Tambu, 1996)
  • English Eyes (from Turn Back, 1981)
  • Jake to the Bone (from Kingdom of Desire, 1993)
  • Lea (from Fahrenheit, 1986)
  • Rosanna (from Toto IV, 1982)
  • Acoustic Storytellers
    • Miss Sun (demo recording, 1977, released on Toto XX, 1998)
    • Georgy Porgy (from Toto, 1978)
    • Human Nature (Michael Jackson cover, co-written by Porcaro)
    • Holyanna (from Isolation, 1984)
    • No Love (from Mindfields, 1999)
    • Mushanga (from The Seventh One, 1988)
    • Stop Loving You (from The Seventh One, 1988)
Set 2
  • Girl Goodbye (from Toto, 1978)
  • Angela (from Toto, 1978)
  • Lion (from Isolation, 1984)
  • Dune (Desert Theme) (from Dune Soundtrack, 1984)
  • While My Guitar Gently Weeps (from 25th Anniversary: Live in Amsterdam, 2003)
  • Stranger in Town (from Isolation, 1984)
  • Make Believe (from Toto IV, 1982)
  • Africa (from Toto IV, 1982)
  • The Road Goes On (from Tambu, 1996)