Skip to main content

Preview: "Who Came First: Expanded Edition" - Pete Townshend

Artist: Pete Townshend
Title: Who Came First: Expanded Edition
Release Date: April 20, 2018
Label: UMe
  • 2-CDs
  • Digital
In October 1972, Pete Townshend released his first solo album, Who Came First, a collection of demos and previously released material.

Three of the tracks came from the cocept album Lifehouse which never saw the light of day even though some of the songs made their way to the Who's Next album. Four more were from two tribute albums that Townshend had recorded for his guru Meher Baba.  Two new song rounded out the nine song track list.

The new 45th anniversary Expanded Edition includes 2-CDs, one with the original album and a second with seventeen additional tracks including alternate versions, an instrumental version of "Baba O'Reilly", two live tracks and three previously unreleased songs.

Also in the package is a 24-page booklet of rare photos. 

Track List:

Disc 1

  • Pure and Easy
  • Evolution
  • Forever’s No Time At All
  • Let’s See Action
  • Time Is Passing
  • There’s a Heartache Following Me
  • Sheraton Gibson
  • Content
  • Parvardigar
Disc 2
  • His Hands
  • The Seeker (2017 edit)
  • Day Of Silence
  • Sleeping Dog
  • Mary Jane (Stage A Version)
  • I Always Say (2017 Edit)
  • Begin The Beguine (2017 edit)
  • Baba O’Reilly (Instrumental)
  • The Love Man (Stage C)
  • Content (Stage A)
  • Day Of Silence (Alternate Version)
  • Parvardigar (Alternate take)
  • Nothing Is Everything
  • There’s A Fortune In Those Hills
  • Meher Baba In Italy
  • Drowned (live in India)
  • Evolution (live at Ronnie Lane Memorial)