Skip to main content

Preview: "Safe In the Arms of Time" - Rita Coolidge

Artist: Rita Coolidge
Title: Safe in the Arms of Time
Release Date: May 4, 2018
Label: Blue Elan Records
  • CD
  • 2-LPs
  • Digital
Rita Coolidge will release her new album, Safe in the Arms of Time, on May 4 via Blue Elan Records.

Coolidge has had a long and eclectic career. She started as a background singer after being discovered by Delaney & Bonnie and was one of the featured artists on Joe Cocker's Mad Dogs & Englishmen tour and the accompanying album which included Rita's take on the now classic "Superstar".

She began her solo career in 1971 with each album finder her a bigger audience until, in 1977, Anytime...Anywhere brought her to the masses with her covers of Jackie Wilson's "(You're Love Has Lifted Me) Higher and Higher", Boz Scaggs' "We're All Alone" and the Temptation's "The Way You Do the Things You Do".

While Coolidge has always been a superb interpreter of other's songs, she has also written some of her material, co-authoring three of the songs on the new album.

Of the new album, Coolidge said "The idea was making an album that had the same appeal of my early records – to make a roots record about my own roots"

Guests on the album include Keb' Mo' ("Walking on Water" which the two co-wrote) and Graham Nash ("Doing Fine Without You").

Safe in the Arms of Time marks the first new music Coolidge has recorded since the tragic death in 2015 of her beloved sister, Priscilla, a recording artist and member of Walela, the Native American trio she and Coolidge founded with Priscilla’s daughter, Laura Satterfield. The recording of the album also coincided with Coolidge’s relocation from Southern California to a new life in Tallahassee, where in the 1960s, as an art major at Florida State University, she discovered her true calling as a musician and never looked back.

The album was recorded at Sunset Studio in L.A. where Coolidge recorded many of her early albums.  Her band included guitarist Dave Grissom, bassist Bob Glaub, keyboardist John “J.T.” Thomas, and drummer Brian MacLeod.

Track List:
  • Satisfied
  • Doing Fine Without You
  • Walking on Water
  • Spirit World
  • The Things We Carry
  • Naked All Night
  • Van Gogh
  • Rainbow
  • Over You
  • We Are Blood
  • You Can Fall in Love
  • Please Grow Old with Me

Tour Dates:
  • 03/10 - Saratoga, CA - Montalvo Arts Center
  • 03/11 - Berkeley, CA - Freight & Salvage Coffeehouse
  • 04/12 - New York, NY - The Cutting Room
  • 04/13 - Beacon, NY - The Towne Crier Café
  • 04/15 - Philadelphia, PA - World Cafe Live
  • 04/30 - Los Angeles, CA - Troubadour