Skip to main content

Preview: "The Junction" - The Manhattan Transfer's First Album in Almost a Decade

Artist: Manhattan Transfer
Title: The Junction
Release Date: March 30, 2018
Label: BMG
  • CD
  • Digital
It's been fourteen years since the Manhattan Transfer released an album that contained a variety of styles (Vibrate (2004)) and almost a decade since their last studio release (The Chick Corea Songbook (2009)) but, on March 30, they will finally have some new tracks on The Junction.

Over the time, there have been changes to the preeminent jazz vocal group. Founder Tim Hauser, who started the Transfer in 1969, died in 2014 and was replaced by Trist Curless, formerly of the vocal group m-pact, who had stood in previously for Houser in 2013 and early 2014 while he underwent back surgery.  In addition, Cheryl Bentyne was treated and beat Hodgkin's lymphoma.

Now, the four current members of the group have entered the studio with Mervyn Warren (Take 6) to record an album that they say will make their sound accessible to a new generation.

The first song released from the album, "Cantalooop (Flip Out!)", is the Transfer's version of a song originally done by Us3 which was originally based on Herbie Hancock's "Cantaloupe Island".

Track List:
  • Cantaloop (Flip Out!)
  • Swing Balboa (Down on Riverside)
  • The Man Who Sailed Around His Soul
  • Blues For Harry Bosch
  • Shake Ya Boogie (Galactic Vocal Version)
  • Sometimes I Do
  • Ugly Man
  • The Junction
  • Tequila / The Way Of The Booze
  • Paradise Within (Paradise Found)