Skip to main content

PBS Bringing Together Veteran Doo-Wop Artists With New Acts For New Special

via Press Release

Join R&B legend Little Anthony, Sha Na Na's Jon "Bowzer" Bauman and TJL Productions' producer TJ Lubinsky in the new My Music: Doo Wop Generations special that reunites the original artists of Doo Wop in concert with exciting young performers.

Shot in Asbury Park, New Jersey, it's a sentimental, emotion-packed night of nostalgia. My Music searched the country to find a new generation of Doo Wop singers to pay tribute to these veteran artists as they return to the stage for a final celebration. 

This once-in-a-lifetime concert for PBS also features performances that tell stories about the original singers — their triumphs, challenges and eternal love for this music — and inspirational recollections from friends and loved ones. "I think of "Doo Wop Generations" akin to a special family recipe, handed down from great grandparents to grandparents, parents to grandkids" – a shared musical experience that tells the warm and fuzzy stories of the original groups from their start over 60 years ago as they take the stage for the last time," says Lubinsky.

My Music: Doo Wop Generations premieres on PBS stations on March 3, 2018 with repeat airings the following week (check local listings). Program highlights include:
  • "Runaround Sue" – The Virginia Gentlemen with The Del-Satins
  • "The Lion Sleeps Tonight" – The Alley Cats with Jay Siegel's Tokens
  • "Book of Love" – The Tee-Tones
  • "Tonight, Tonight" – The Redondos
  • "You Belong To Me" – The Duprees with Chris Ruggiero
  • "Who's That Knockin'" – The Whiptones
  • "Sh-Boom" – Street Corner Renaissance
  • "1000 Thousand Miles Away" – Street Corner Renaissance with The Heartbearts
  • "The Angels Listened In" – JT Carter's Group with Peter Lemongello, Jr.
  • "The Worst That Could Happen" – JT Morgan and Brooklyn Bridge
  • "Dedicated To The One I Love" – The Lovettes
  • "This Magic Moment"– Justin & James, Charlie Thomas' Drifters, Jay & The Americans
  • "Those Magic Changes" – Johnny Contardo
  • "Oh, Rose Marie" – Freddy Velas & The Silvertones
  • "Come & Go With Me" – The Kingpins
  • "Born Too Late" – The Whatabouts
  • "Lollipop" – Shy Of A Dozen
  • "The Diary" – Kid Kyle
  • "My Prayer" – Frank Pizarro
  • "In The Still Of The Night" – Fred Parris & The Five Satins
  • "Stand By Me" – The Cat's Pajamas
  • "Since I Don't Have You" – The Modern Gentlemen and The Skyliners
  • "Angel Baby" – Gwynne Alden
  • "Looking For An Echo" – Kenny Vance & The Planotones with Entire Cast