Skip to main content

Ohio Players Recording First New Album in Thirty Years

via Press Release

It's not an understatement to suggest Ohio Players are one of the greatest bands of all time. They are an American national treasure, a band that truly broke the mold and changed the face of music forever. The Players music is pure and organic, at their heights they produced 17 Top 40 hits, with several platinum and gold selling albums, including masterpiece songs such as 'Skin Tight', 'Fire', 'Love Rollercoaster' and 'Who'd She Coo?'

The Players sound has been ingrained into modern popular culture. Their music has been used everywhere, from McDonald's commercials to The Sopranos. In 2004 the Players were given a prestigious BMI award for the use of the song 'Fire' on 12 seasons of Hell's Kitchen. The Players also paved the way for the next generation of funkateers; samples of their music have enhanced the careers of Snoop Dogg, Dr. Dre, Ice Cube, Ice-T, Beastie Boys, Public Enemy, Jay-Z, Outkast, Notorious BIG, 2Pac, Mary J Blige and a great many others. Their songs have also been covered by a vast array of artists including Red Hot Chili Peppers.

In 2013, the Players were inducted into the inaugural class of the Official R&B Music Hall of Fame and in 2018, for the first time in almost 30 years Ohio Players are back with new music!

The original Players members of James 'Diamond' Williams (Drummer), Billy Beck, (Keyboardist), Clarence 'Chet' Willis (Guitarist) and Robert 'Kuumba' Jones (Percussionist) have been back in the studio recording the new music. The first single to drop is called 'Reset' and rest assured, that Player groove is ever present. Mature and refined and complete with that earthy timeless signature sound that made Ohio Players international superstars.

Coinciding with the release of the new record, Cherry Red Records out of the UK have put together the definitive three CD collection of Ohio Players works, combining music from the Capitol, Westbound, Mercury, Arista & Boardwalk days alongside various spin off projects by the members over the years for a total career overview of this exceptional Funk Band.

The track list for Cherry Red Records' Ohio Players: The Definitive Collection...Plus (import in U.S.):

Disc 1 (The Early Years)
  • Here Today And Gone Tomorrow
  • Find Someone To Love
  • Pleasure
  • Walt's First Trip
  • Varee Is Love
  • Funky Worm
  • Pain
  • Players Balling (Players Doin' Their Own Thing)
  • Ecstasy
  • Food Stamps Y'all
  • Sleep Talk
  • Climax
  • Skin Tight
  • Jive Turkey
Disc 2 (The Golden Years)
  • Fire
  • I Want To Be Free (SINGLE Version)
  • Granny's Funky Rolls Royce - Junie
  • Sweet Sticky Thing
  • Love Rollercoaster
  • Happy Holidays (PART 1)
  • Fopp (Single Version)
  • Suzie Thundertussy - Junie
  • Who’d She Coo?
  • Far East Mississippi
  • Feel The Beat (Everybody Disco)
  • Contradiction
  • Merry Go Round
  • Body Vibes
  • O-H-I-O
  • Good Luck Charm
Disc 3 (The Later & Solo Years)
  • Magic Trick
  • Funk-O-Nots
  • Time Slips Away
  • Everybody Up
  • Don’t Say Goodbye
  • Take Da Funk Off, Fly
  • Love Has Taken Me Over (Be My Baby) - Junie
  • Try A Little Tenderness
  • Skinny
  • Sitting On The Dock Of The Bay
  • Born To Hustle – Shadow
  • Just Me
  • Kiss - Sugarfoot
  • Fire 85 - Sugarfoot


nektarlives said…
aint the same without the main member singer guitar player Sugarfoot its NOT the Ohio Players