Skip to main content

Preview: Randy Bachman Pays Tribute to George Harrison on "By George - By Bachman"

Artist: Randy Bachman
Title: By George - By Bachman
Release Date: March 2, 2018
Label: Universal Music Canada
  • CD
  • Digital
Randy Bachman, the only person to be inducted twice into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame (Guess Who, Bachman-Turner Overdrive) will release his latest solo album, By George - By Bachman, on March 2 via Universal Music Canada.

The album is a salute to the legend that is George Harrison with Bachman selecting some of the best tracks from his very large repertoire. Bachman said "On Jukebox, the covers album I did with Burton Cummings back in 2007, I took ‘I’m Happy Just To Dance With You’, which wasn’t written by George but written for him to sing, and put a whole new groove on it. People already knew the lyrics so I put it into a new musical context and it worked. For this album I figured I would take George’s songs and give them new grooves. I wanted the tempos and arrangements to be different but still recognizable by the lyrics. I took the major keys and turned them into minors. It was a whole new interpretation of a familiar song. I was quite excited about the prospect of re-imagining George Harrison’s songs."

Bachman carefully chose the songs for the album which includes such classics as "If I Needed Someone", "While My Guitar Gently Weeps", "Taxman", "Something" and "Here Come the Sun" intermixed with some of Harrison's deeper cuts such as "You Like Me Too Much" and "Think For Yourself".

Bookending the album is a Bachman original, "Between Two Mountains", which Randy explained. "George's light shone through what could have been a shadow between such mountainous forces as John and Paul."

Plus, there are bits and pieces of other Harrison work. "Throughout the album, I put in little signature licks that are associated with George's songs, like the slide part from 'My Sweet Lord' or the opening chord from 'A Hard Day's Night' for the fans to notice."

Bachman will also be touring in support of the album (see dates below). 

Track List:
  • Between Two Mountains
  • If I Needed Someone
  • You Like Me Too Much
  • While My Guitar Gently Weeps
  • Handle with Care
  • Taxman
  • I Need You
  • Something
  • Think for Yourself
  • Here Comes the Sun
  • Don't Bother Me
  • Give Me Love (Give Me Peace on Earth)
  • Between Two Mountains (Reprise)

Tour Dates:
  • 02/23 - Riverhead, NY - Suffolk Theater 
  • 02/24 - New York City, NY - B.B. King Blues Club & Grill 
  • 03/02 - Huntsville, ON - Legacy Theatre - Deerhurst Resort 
  • 03/03 - Ottawa, ON - National Arts Centre – Southam Hall 
  • 03/05 - Sarnia, ON - Imperial Theatre 
  • 03/06 - Sarnia, ON - Imperial Theatre 
  • 03/07 - Peterborough, ON - Showplace Performance Centre 
  • 03/08 - Kitchener, ON - Centre in the Square 
  • 03/09 - Brampton, ON - Rose Theatre 
  • 03/13 - Victoria, BC - The Royal Theatre
  • 03/15 - Nanaimo, BC - The Port Theatre 
  • 03/16 - Coquitlam, BC - Molson Canadian Theatre - Hard Rock Casino Vancouver 
  • 03/17 - Cranbrook, BC - Key City Theatre 
  • 03/19 - Calgary, AB - Bella Concert Hall - Mount Royal University
  • 03/21 - Sherwood Park, AB - Festival Place 
  • 03/23 - Winnipeg, MB - Club Regent Event Centre 
  • 03/24 - Winnipeg, MB - Club Regent Event Centre 
  • 03/26 - Prince Albert, SK - E. A. Rawlinson Centre for the Arts 
  • 03/27 - Regina, SK, - Casino Regina Showroom 
  • 04/28 - Visalia, CA - Visalia Fox Theatre 
  • 08/10 - Kelowna, BC - Rock the Lake - Waterfront Park 
  • 08/12 - Windsor, ON - Rock the Plaza - Windsor Plaza


Anonymous said…
Burton Cummings is also a double inductee (The Guess Who and solo).