Skip to main content

The Eels to Release Their Twelfth Studio Album, "The Deconstruction"

Artist: Eels
Title: The Deconstruction
Release Date: April 6, 2018
Label: PIAS
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Digital
The Eels have released a LOT of music over the last two decades, some under the band name and others by members, especially Mark Oliver Everett, the one member who has been consistently with the group since their 1995 debut.

On April 6, their twelfth "official" album under the Eels name, The Deconstruction, will be released. The current group for the album includes "E" (Everett), Koool G Murder and P-Boo along with "The Deconstruction Orchestra & Choir".

Recorded at The Compound in Los Feliz, CA and The Pie in Pasadena, the album was produced by E along with Mickey Petralia who last worked with the band on their 1998 album Electro-Shock Blues.

Everett wrote about the album on their official website:

We could do the usual record company “bio” about this new record, but, seriously… who gives a fuck.

The world is a mess. This is just music. Music by someone who tends to believe that change starts in your own backyard. I’m just optimistic enough to believe that kind of thing can still help people.

It doesn’t have any answers, other than maybe that there is no answer, the dust never settles, everything is out of control, etc. But it offers this: you can make changes. Thus, you can change the world. Right?

Maybe if there’s anything we have any true control over, it’s how we see things. There’s a song about that here. The “our” of “In Our Cathedral” is the collective “our” — all of us. Your point of view. As the great Roger Miller once said, “You can't roller skate in a buffalo herd, but you can be happy if you've a mind to.” He said it better than I did.

The other thing we can do while everything’s such a mess is just try to be kind. Why not? We all have bad days, but why not put in the effort whenever possible? Nobody has it easy, however their story may appear from a distance. So why not try to be nice? Starting with yourself. That’s a nice change for the world right there. Good things will grow out of that. There are some songs along those lines here as well.

I’ve been through some stuff, but I’m no expert. I’m trying to dead reckon my way same as anyone. I’m really just talking to myself here, looking for what’s really there under all the defenses. But maybe it could help you too?

Or: Fuck all this jibber jabber and see if you like this new record.

Here are 15 new EELS tracks that may or may not inspire, rock, or not rock you. The world is going nuts. But if you look for it, there is still great beauty to be found. Sometimes you don’t even have to look for it. Other times you have to try to make it yourself. And then there are times you have to tear something apart to find something beautiful inside.

Best wishes on future endeavors,
EELS guy

Track List:
  • The Deconstruction 
  • Bone Dry
  • The Quandary 
  • Premonition 
  • Rusty Pipes
  • The Epiphany
  • Today is the Day
  • Sweet Scorched Earth 
  • Coming Back
  • Be Hurt
  • You Are the Shining Light
  • There I Said It
  • Archie Goodnight
  • The Unanswerable
  • In Our Cathedral