Skip to main content

Set List: Joe Perry @ The Roxy Theatre, Los Angeles

Joe Perry, legendary guitarist, co-founding member, principal songwriter and co-producer of Aerosmith, and his all-star band crushed it at a two-hour plus set this past Tuesday (January 16) at The Roxy Theatre in Los Angeles, CA. Joe was backed by guitarist Dean DeLeo and bassist Robert DeLeo (Stone Temple Pilots), Buck Johnson (keyboards/vocals/Aerosmith) and David Goodstein (drums) who performed the entire set that also featured guest appearances by Slash and Johnny Depp. Gary Cherone (Extreme/Van Halen) handled vocals for the bulk of the show, with other guest vocalists also lighting up the Roxy: Terry Reid, David Johanson, Robin Zander and Chris Robinson.

Tuesday’s set list included Sweetzerland Manifesto collaborations “I’ll Do Happiness,” “Sick & Tired,” and “Won’t Let Me Go” with Terry Reid, “Eve of Destruction” alongside the album’s executive producer Johnny Depp, “I Wanna Roll” with David Johanson and Depp followed by “I’m Goin’ Crazy” with Johanson, the album’s first single “Aye, Aye, Aye” with Robin Zander, who stayed on with the band to play Zander’s “Countryside Blvd” solo song, before the band went on to play the album’s instrumental “Spanish Sushi.” Beyond these guests, Perry was joined by Chris Robinson on Perry‘s “Fortunate One” and “Quake” with Cherone with all the special guests then joining in on a crowd sing-a-long of the Beatles’ classic “Come Together.” Other songs in the show included Perry solo tracks “Shakin’ My Cage” and “Rockin’ Train” and Aerosmith tracks “Let The Music Do The Talking,” “Toys In The Attic,” “Pandora’s Box,” and “Train Kept A Rollin'” with Slash and Depp.

The show came three days before the release of his Sweetzerland Manifesto album. Set for release on his own Roman Records imprint (distributed worldwide by AMPED Distribution), Sweetzerland Manifesto, which is available for pre-order via iTunes and Amazon–marks Joe‘s sixth solo album and is comprised of 10 new tracks. They were all written or co-written by Joe (many with the album’s guest vocalists), except for a cover of “Eve Of Destruction” with Joe on lead vocals and Johnny Depp on drums. The album features guest appearances from a long list of Joe’s friends, colleagues and rock and roll icons. Highlights include “Aye, Aye, Aye,” which Joe co-wrote with the track’s vocalist Robin Zander,and three collaborations with David Johansen, who sings “I Wanna Roll,” “Haberdasher Blues,” and “I’m Going Crazy,” plus as many co-writes with Terry Reid whose lead vocals light up “I’ll Do Happiness,” (with Zak Starkey on drums), “Sick & Tired” and “Won’t Let Me Go.”

The set list (with guest vocalists listed in parenthesis):

Main Set
  • Let The Music Do The Talking (from Let the Music Do the Talking, 1980)
  • Toys In The Attic (from Aerosmith's Toys in the Attic, 1975)
  • Pandora’s Box (from Aerosmith's Get Your Wings, 1974)
  • Shakin’ My Cage (from Joe Perry, 2005)
  • I’ll Do Happiness (Terry Reid) (from Sweetzerland Manifesto, 2017)
  • Sick & Tired (Terry Reid) (from Sweetzerland Manifesto, 2017)
  • Won’t Let Me Go (Terry Reid) (from Sweetzerland Manifesto, 2017)
  • Fortunate One (Chris Robinson) (new)
  • Spanish Sushi (from Sweetzerland Manifesto, 2017)
  • Eve of Destruction (Johnny Depp) (from Sweetzerland Manifesto, 2017)
  • I Wanna Roll (David Johanson and Johnny Depp) (from Sweetzerland Manifesto, 2017)
  • I’m Goin’ Crazy (David Johanson) (from Sweetzerland Manifesto, 2017)
  • Countryside Blvd (from Robin Zander's unreleased Countryside Blvd., 2011)
  • Aye, Aye, Aye (Robin Zander) (from Sweetzerland Manifesto, 2017)
  • Quake (new)
  • Rockin’ Train (from Let the Music Do the Talking, 1980)
  • Come Together (all guests) (from the soundtrack of Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, 1978)
  • Train Kept A Rollin’ (Slash and Johnny Depp) (from Aerosmith's Get Your Wings, 1974)