Skip to main content

Preview: The Breeders, With 4 of the 5 Members of Their Early 90's Lineup, to Release New Album

Artist: Breeders
Title: All Nerve
Release Date: March 2, 2018
Label: 4AD

by Paul Cashmere, Noise11

Kim and Kelley Deal, Jim MacPhearson and Josephine Wiggs (but not Tanya Donnelly) have reformed The Breeders classic line-up of the early 90s.

A fifth album for The Breeders titled All Nerve will be released soon. Word is one of the songs features Courtney Barnett.

The Deal’s reformed the band in 2002 without Wiggs, MacPhearson and Donnelly to release a third and forth album Title TK (2002) and Mountain Battles (2008).

Deal, Deal, MacPherson and Wiggs last recorded together as The Breeders for 1993’s Last Splash after releasing the debut Pod in 1990.

The Breeders first broke up after two albums in 1995 after Kelley Deal was involved in a drug bust. Kim Deal and Jim MacPhearson then formed The Amps and released the Pacer album in 1995.

After rehab Kelley formed The Kelley Deal 6000 and then The Last Hard Men (with Sebastian Bach and Jimmy Chamberlain).

Donnelly formed Belly while she was still in The Breeders. That band has also reformed and will release a new album in April.

The Deals, MacPherson and Wiggs reunited in 2012 for live shows to mark the 20th anniversary of Last Splash.

The Breeders All Nerve will be released on 2 March 2018. That sounds like a SXSW placed release date to me.

Recording took place at Candyland, Dayton, Kentucky, with Mike Montgomery; Electrical Audio, Chicago, with Steve Albini and Greg Norman; and with Tom Rastikis at Fernwood Studios, Dayton, Ohio.

Track List:
  • Nervous Mary
  • Wait in the Car
  • All Nerve
  • MetaGoth
  • Spacewoman
  • Walking with the Killer
  • Howl at the Summit
  • Archangel’s Thunderbird
  • Dawn: Making an Effort
  • Skinhead #2
  • Blues at the Acropolis