Skip to main content

Shawn Colvin Announces New Album, Tour With Lyle Lovett

Artist: Shawn Colvin
Title: The Starlighter
Release Date: February 23, 2018
Label: Amazon Music
  • CD 
  • Digital

Grammy-winning singer-songwriter Shawn Colvin has announced the upcoming release of the Amazon Original, The Starlighter, a new album of songs adapted from the children's music book Lullabies and Night Songs. The record will be released on February 23rd via Amazon Music.

Colvin has shared a new video for the song "The Starlighter," which is currently streaming via Rolling Stone who stated, "The LP's title track is accompanied by a dazzling music video crafted by Jordan Stone and Martin Hughes in Victorian pantomime-inspired animation, while at the same time echoing the spirit of the original Sendak illustrations."

The Starlighter will be released exclusively for purchase on Amazon Music and streaming through Amazon Music Unlimited and Prime Music.

"The Starlighter" video is based on Victorian paper theatres and the illustration style of children’s books from the same era, and was created by the Manchester, UK/Los Angeles-based motion design studio WeFail. Each scene contains over one hundred layered illustrations, and every element in the video was drawn using a digital tablet before being animated by hand. Shawn Colvin’s character in the video consists of 30 individual hand-drawn pieces, each digitally painted before motion design was applied to create the complete figure.

As an eight-year-old girl growing up in Vermillion, South Dakota, Colvin's mother and father presented her with Lullabies and Night Songs, a children’s music book that joined famed 20th century American composer Alec Wilder’s arrangements with the fantastical artwork of "Where the Wild Things Are" author and illustrator Maurice Sendak. In 1998, on the cusp of becoming a parent herself, she returned to its pages for her album, Holiday Songs and Lullabies, which featured updated takes on several selections from Wilder and Sendak’s book.

Now, another 19 years later, she has revisited the book once again for her newest release, The Starlighter, Colvin’s tenth solo effort overall. The album finds the GRAMMY-winning singer, songwriter and guitarist reaching into her past in the service of crafting a fresh and thoroughly unique offering—one that resonates with the warmth and tenderness of poignant familial experience and remembrance. The Starlighter’s 14 tracks are a mix of traditional numbers and children’s standards, all of them culled from the pages of Wilder and Sendak’s transformative book.

The selections from Lullabies and Night Songs that Colvin chose for The Starlighter
run the gamut from traditional fare like “Hush Little Baby” and “Raisins and Almonds,” to “Minnie and Winnie,” with prose by 19th century Poet Laureate of Great Britain Alfred, Lord Tennyson, and “Cradle Song,” including lyrics by celebrated English poet William Blake. As for how she went about choosing which pieces to adapt, Colvin admits it wasn’t easy. “There wasn’t a dud among them,” she says. “But we wanted to give the record some dynamics in terms of the feel, so we made sure to choose some upbeat songs, because I sort of tend toward the melancholy, slower, more hypnotic tunes.”

The Starlighter arrives on the heels of two recent, acclaimed releases from Shawn Colvin. In June 2016, Colvin and longtime friend Steve Earle united on the duo album, Colvin & Earle. An expanded 20th anniversary release of A Few Small Repairs, Colvin’s seminal breakthrough album, was also released in September 2017. Colvin marked the occasion by undertaking a seven-week U.S. tour in which she and her band performed the album in its entirety.

Track List:
  • The Starlighter
  • Raisins and Almonds
  • Go Tell Aunt Rhody
  • Minnie and Winnie
  • Sleep, Baby, Sleep
  • Many Millions Years Ago
  • The Huntsman
  • The Cuckoo Is A Pretty Bird
  • Night
  • The Journey
  • Bobby Shaftoe
  • The Nut Tree
  • Hush, Little Baby
  • Cradle Song
Dates for "An Acoustic Evening With Lyle Lovett & Shawn Colvin":
  • 03/01 - Bensalem, PA - Xcite Center at Park Casino
  • 03/02 - Torrington, CT - Warner Theatre
  • 03/03 - New London, CT - Garde Arts Center
  • 03/04 - Peekskill, NY - Paramount Hudson Valley
  • 03/06 - Orono, ME - Collins Center for the Arts
  • 03/07 - Brownfield, ME - Stone Mountain Arts Center
  • 03/08 - Troy, NY - Troy Savings Bank Music Hall
  • 03/09 - Portsmouth, NH - The Music Hall
  • 03/10 - Burlington, VT - Flynn Theatre
  • 03/11 - Huntington, NY - The Paramount Theatre
  • 03/14 - Geneva, NY - Smith Opera House
  • 03/17 - York, PA - Strand Capitol Theatre
  • 03/18 - Pittsburgh, PA - The Carnegie Music Hall
  • 03/20 - Cincinnati, OH - Taft Theatre
  • 03/21 - Athens, OH - Ohio University Templeton Blackburn Auditorium
  • 03/22 - Akron, OH - Goodyear Theatre