Skip to main content

Preview: Pet Shop Boys Releasing New "Further Listening" Editions of "Please", "Actually" & "Introspective"

Artist: Pet Shop Boys
  • Please: Further Listening 1984-1986
  • Actually: Further Listening 1987-1988
  • Introspective: Further Listening 1988-1989
Release Date: March 2, 2018
Label: EMI (U.S.), Parlophone (U.K.)
  • 2-CDs
  • LP
  • Digital
The Pet Shop Boys have announced the third wave of their Further Listening deluxe reissues, this time going back to the beginning of their career with Please (1984), Actually (1987) and Introspective (1988). 

This time around, none of the material on the albums is new. Included are brand new remasters of the original albums on disc 1 and remastered versions of the 2001 Further Listening albums, reportedly greatly enhancing the sound that some fans found a bit lacking in the original versions. 

The two-CD sets come with booklets with exclusive interviews, archive photos and sleeve notes. 

The LPs will be just the original remastered albums in single album sets. 

Track List:

Please: Further Listening 1984-1986

Disc 1 (Original album)
  • Two Divided by Zero
  • West End Girls
  • Opportunities (Let’s Make Lots of Money)
  • Love Comes Quickly
  • Suburbia
  • Opportunities (Reprise)
  • Tonight is Forever
  • Violence
  • I Want a Lover
  • Later Tonight
  • Why Don’t We Live Together?
Disc 2 (Further listening)
  • A Man Could Get Arrested (12″ B-side)
  • Opportunities (Let’s Make Lots of Money) (Full-Length Original 7″)
  • In the Night
  • Opportunities (Let’s Make Lots of Money) (Original 12″ Mix)
  • Why Don’t We Live Together? (Original New York Mix)
  • West End Girls (Dance Mix)
  • A Man Could Get Arrested (7″ B-side)
  • Love Comes Quickly (Dance Mix)
  • That’s My Impression (Disco Mix)
  • Was That What It Was?
  • Suburbia (The Full Horror)
  • Jack the Lad
  • Paninaro (Italian Remix)

Actually: Further Listening 1987-1988

Disc 1 (Original album)
  • One More Chance
  • What Have I Done to Deserve This? (Duet with Dusty Springfield)
  • Shopping
  • Rent
  • Hit Music
  • It Couldn’t Happen Here
  • It’s a Sin
  • I Want to Wake Up
  • Heart
  • King’s Cross
Disc 2 (Further listening)
  • I Want to Wake Up (Breakdown Mix)
  • Heart (Shep Pettibone Version)
  • You Know Where You Went Wrong
  • One More Chance (7″ Mix)
  • It’s a Sin (Disco Mix)
  • What Have I Done to Deserve This? (Extended Mix)
  • Heart (Disco Mix)
  • A New Life
  • Always On My Mind (Demo)
  • Rent (7″ Mix)
  • I Want a Dog
  • Always On My Mind (Extended Dance Mix)
  • Do I Have To?
  • Always On My Mind (Dub Mix)

Introspective: Further Listening 1988-1989

Disc 1 (Original album)
  • Left to My Own Devices
  • I Want a Dog
  • Domino Dancing
  • I’m Not Scared
  • Always on My Mind/In My House
  • It’s Alright
Disc 2 (Further listening)
  • I Get Excited (You Get Excited Too) (Full Length Version)
  • Don Juan (Demo)
  • Domino Dancing (Demo)
  • Domino Dancing (Alternative Version)
  • The Sound of the Atom Splitting
  • What Keeps Mankind Alive?
  • Don Juan (Disco Mix)
  • Losing My Mind (Disco Mix)
  • Nothing Has Been Proved (Demo for Dusty)
  • So Sorry, I Said (Demo for Liza)
  • Left to My Own Devices (7″ Mix)
  • It’s Alright (10″ Version)
  • One of the Crowd
  • It’s Alright (7″ Version)
  • Your Funny Uncle