Skip to main content

Cleveland Garage Rockers The Choir To Put Out Album of Unreleased Music

Artist: The Choir
Title: Artifact: The Unreleased Album
Release Date: February 16, 2018
Label: Omnivore
  • CD
  • Digital
Cleveland, Ohio is not only the home to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, but the birthplace of many classic musical acts. The Choir’s first release was the acclaimed 1967 single (“It’s Cold Outside”) on Canadian-American Records (eventually picked up by Roulette). It gained them opening spots for the Who and the Yardbirds, among others, but the group eventually dissipated and morphed into other bands which would include members of The James Gang, and eventually Raspberries.

Some of the Choir’s original recordings have been complied on import EPs, various compilations, and on the expanded boxed set of Lenny Kaye’s Nuggets series, but not much is known about the band’s second wind. Until now.

Artifact: The Unreleased Album, due out February 16, 2018 on Omnivore Recordings, showcases ten tracks, recorded in 1969, making their first appearance anywhere. They resonate with the original Choir vibe, adding in post-British Invasion influences like Procol Harum. Recently unearthed by the late Paul Hamann, the son of Suma Recordings operator Ken Hamann, they have been lovingly restored by Tommy Allen and Ducky Carlisle, whose work has been universally lauded after their efforts for Raspberries’ Pop Art Live

The packaging contains liners from Eric Carmen, Al Kaston, and Choir members Denny Carletonand Phil Giallombardo, plus a family tree, and rare photos from the band’s collections. Artifact: The Unreleased Album is a trip to the late ’60s church of rock ’n’ roll.

From Carmen’s liners: “I went to see the Choir when I was 16, and immediately wanted to join their band. They were a great group that had many lives and many members. This album was made by one of the last and final versions of the band. This recently discovered recording is sure to rekindle fond memories for the many fans of the Choir, including myself. Give it a spin, and enjoy a special piece of Cleveland rock history.”

Track List:
  • Anyway I Can
  • If These Are Men
  • Ladybug
  • I Can’t Stay In Your Life
  • David Watts
  • Have I No Love To Offer
  • For Eric
  • It’s All Over
  • Boris’ Lament
  • Mummer Band