Skip to main content

Preview: "Live at Lafayette's Music Room" - Big Star

Artist: Big Star
Title: Live at Lafayette's Music Room
Release Date: January 12, 2018
Label: Omnivore Recordings
  • CD
  • 2-Vinyl LPs
  • Digital
It is well known that Big Star played a one-off promotional concert for the Memphis Rock Writers Convention at Lafayette’s Music Room in Memphis in May of 1973. The show cemented them into legendary status, after the journalists who witnessed it carried the message of Big Star out in their writing, even though the band had only released one album, #1 Record, and were unsure of recording a second after the departure of co-founder Chris Bell.

What may not be so widely known is that the trio played the same venue four months earlier with the same power and passion opening shows for the Houston R&B band Archie Bell & the Drells. First issued as Disc 4 of the Grammy Award-winning Keep An Eye On The Sky box set, Live At Lafayette’s Music Room sees new light as a stand-alone release, available on January 12, 2018 from Omnivore Recordings on CD, Digital, and for the first time, double LP.

The performance has never sounded better, thanks to new mastering and restoration from Grammy-winning engineer Michael Graves, with supervision from Grammy-winning producer Cheryl Pawelski.

The 20-track set features material from Big Star’s debut, #1 Record; songs that would appear on the (not yet recorded) follow-up, Radio City; and choice covers from The Kinks, Todd Rundgren, The Flying Burrito Brothers, and T. Rex. As an added bonus, all formats include a download of a previously unissued 1972 interview with Alex Chilton and Andy Hummel from the summer of 1971 with Jon Scott on Memphis’ FM 100.

Packaging features new liner notes from Bud Scoppa, who was friends with the band and in attendance at the 1973 Rock Writer’s show. His most recent work for Omnivore was an integral part of the acclaimed Big Star box set Complete Third, and earned him the ASCAP Foundation Deems Taylor/ Virgil Thomson Award for outstanding print, broadcast and new media coverage of music.
Although an opening slot for Archie Bell, and with few live performances under their belt, Scoppa writes: “The recording documents a band morphing into a remarkably versatile trio under the most challenging of circumstances.”

Experience the only known document of Big Star at this pivotal point in their short, but massively influential career. Omnivore is proud to present Live At Lafayette’s Music Room.

Track List:
  • When My Baby’s Beside Me 
  • My Life Is Right
  • She’s A Mover
  • Way Out West
  • The Ballad Of El Goodo 
  • In The Street
  • Back Of A Car
  • Thirteen
  • The India Song
  • Try Again
  • Watch The Sunrise
  • Don’t Lie To Me
  • Hot Burrito #2
  • I Got Kinda Lost
  • Baby Strange
  • Slut
  • There Was A Light
  • St 100/6
  • Come On Now
  • O My Soul
Download Only:
  • Alex Chilton and Andy Hummel Interview with Jon Scott on FM 100, Summer 1972*