Skip to main content

Glen Campbell and Willie Nelson Win Early CMA Award

by VVN Music

Even though the big awards won't be given out until later tonight (November 8), two CMA Award trophies were given out earlier today to cut down on the number given during the live telecast.

Among those was Musical Event of the Year which went to "Funny How Time Slips Away" by Glen Campbell with Willie Nelson.

The duet appears on Campbell's final album, Adios, which was released on June 9.  Campbell died from complications of Alzheimer's Disease less than two months later on August 8.

Campbell and Nelson defeated a high powered set of nominees including Tim McGraw and Faith Hill, Kenny Chesney with P!nk, Eric Church and Rhiannon Giddens and Thomas Rhett Featuring Maren Morris.

Also given was Music Video of the Year which went to "It Ain't My Fault" by the Brothers Osborne.

The awards, which begin at 8 PM tonight on ABC, are hosted for the tenth year by Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood at the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville.

The nominees with veteran artists in bold and winners in blue:

Entertainer of the Year
  • Garth Brooks
  • Luke Bryan
  • Eric Church
  • Chris Stapleton
  • Keith Urban
Album of the Year
  • The Breaker – Little Big Town
  • From A Room, Vol. 1 – Chris Stapleton
  • Heart Break – Lady Antebellum
  • The Nashville Sound – Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit
  • The Weight of These Wings ­– Miranda Lambert
Single of the Year
  • "Better Man" – Little Big Town
  • "Blue Ain't Your Color" – Keith Urban
  • "Body Like a Back Road" – Sam Hunt
  • "Dirt on My Boots" – Jon Pardi
  • "Tin Man" – Miranda Lambert
Song of the Year
  • "Better Man" – Little Big Town (songwriter: Taylor Swift)
  • "Blue Ain't Your Color" – Keith Urban (songwriters: Clint Lagerberg, Hillary Lindsey, Steven Olsen)
  • "Body Like a Back Road" – Sam Hunt (songwriters: Zach Crowell, Sam Hunt, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne)
  • "Dirt on My Boots" – Jon Pardi (songwriters: Rhett Akins, Jesse Frasure, Ashley Gorley)
  • "Tin Man" – Miranda Lambert (songwriters: Jack Ingram, Miranda Lambert, Jon Randall)
Male Vocalist of the Year
  • Dierks Bentley
  • Eric Church
  • Thomas Rhett
  • Chris Stapleton
  • Keith Urban
Female Vocalist of the Year
  • Kelsea Ballerini
  • Miranda Lambert
  • Reba McEntire
  • Maren Morris
  • Carrie Underwood
New Artist of the Year
  • Luke Combs
  • Old Dominion
  • Luke Combs
  • Brett Young
  • Lauren Alaina
Vocal Duo of the Year
  • Dan + Shay
  • Florida Georgia Line
  • LoCash
  • Maddie and Tae
  • Brothers Osborne
Vocal Group of the Year
  • Lady Antebellum
  • Little Big Town
  • Old Dominion
  • Rascal Flatts
  • Zac Brown Band
Music Video of the Year
  • "Better Man" – Little Big Town
  • "Blue Ain't Your Color" – Keith Urban
  • "Craving You" – Thomas Rhett feat. Maren Morris
  • "It Ain't My Fault" – Brothers Osborne
  • "Vice" – Miranda Lambert
Musical Event of the Year
  • "Craving You" – Thomas Rhett feat. Maren Morris
  • "Funny How Time Slips Away" – Glen Campbell with Willie Nelson
  • "Kill a Word" – Eric Church feat. Rhiannon Giddens
  • "Setting the World on Fire" – Kenny Chesney with Pink
  • "Speak to a Girl" – Tim McGraw and Faith Hill
Musician of the Year
  • Jerry Douglas (Dobro)
  • Paul Franklin (Steel guitar)
  • Dann Huff (Guitar)
  • Mac McAnally (Guitar)
  • Derek Wells (Guitar)