Skip to main content

Set List: Original and Current Versions of Foreigner Play Together in Michigan

by VVN Music

Foreigner is ending their 40th Anniversary Tour with concerts that fans have been clamoring for. The current lineup of Foreigner are taking the stage with the classic version of the band.

On Friday (October 6) night, the bands took the stage at the Soaring Eagle Casino & Hotel in Mount Pleasant, MI.  The current lineup was up first, with founding member Mick Jones, Thom Gimbel who has been with the band since 1992, and Jeff Pilson, Kelly Hanson, Michael Bluestein, Bruce Watson and Chris Frazier who all have joined since 2000.

That lineup ran through eleven songs including such favorites as "Cold as Ice", "Head Games" and "Urgent". Original band vocalist Lou Gramm did join them during the first half of the show for an acoustic "Fool For You Anyway".

Then it was time for the original band to come in with Jones, Graham, Rick Wills, Al Greenwood, Dennis Elliott and Ian McDonald. They took on five Foreigner classics before the current group came back to finish the night with a combined group.

The set list:

Current Line-Up
  • Cold as Ice (from Foreigner, 1977)
  • Head Games (from Head Games, 1979)
  • Waiting for a Girl Like You (from 4, 1981)
  • Headknocker (from Foreigner, 1977)
  • Say You Will (from Inside Information, 1987)
  • The Flame Still Burns (single, 2016)
  • Fool for You Anyway (with Lou Gramm) (from Foreigner, 1977)
  • Urgent (from 4, 1981)
  • Starrider (from Foreigner, 1977)
  • Tramontane (from Double Vision, 1978) 
  • Juke Box Hero (from 4, 1981)
Original Line-Up
  • Feels Like the First Time (from Foreigner, 1977)
  • Double Vision (from Double Vision, 1978) 
  • Long, Long Way From Home (from Foreigner, 1977)
  • Blue Morning, Blue Day (from Double Vision, 1978) 
  • Dirty White Boy (from Head Games, 1979)
Original and Current Line-Ups
  • I Want to Know What Love Is (from Agent Provocateur, 1984)
  • Hot Blooded (from Double Vision, 1978) 
Both nights are being filmed for commercial release.

Jones thinks that it is "inevitable" that the two versions of the band will play more together in 2018.  The one problem could be Gramm who has said he is retiring at the end of this year.