Skip to main content

Moody Blues, Bon Jovi, Radiohead & Nina Simone Among Nominees For Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

by VVN Music

Well, it's about time.

After being eligible for 28 years, the Moody Blues have finally been nominated for the very first time for induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

The group is one of 15 artists who were selected for possible induction on Wednesday in a list that cut across genres and the ages, giving the nod to such diverse artists as Nina Simone, Sister Rosetta Tharpe, Judas Priest and Rage Against the Machine.

Only two artists made the cut who were eligible for the first time this year, Radiohead and Rage Against the Machine.  Passed over in their first possible year for induction were Tool, No Doubt, TLC, Wu-Tang Clan and Mary J. Blige.

Beyond the Moody Blues, Radiohead and Rage Against the Machine, the ballot also includes first time nominees Kate Bush, Dire Straits, Eurythmics, Judas Priest, Nina Simone and Sister Rosetta Tharpe.

Both Simone and Tharpe are major surprises.  Tharpe was a gospel artist who was most popular in the 30's and 40's and influenced many early rock and rollers.  Her being in the Rock Hall should be a no brainer but its surprising that she didn't make it in via the early influences special award.

Simone has been cited as an influence for numerous artists but is more strongly identified as a jazz singer, a genre that is rarely singled out for the rock hall.

Also a bit of a surprise is Kate Bush who has had a stellar career in Britain but has never had major success in the U.S.  Her inclusion is questionable when other British artists like The Smiths seem more deserving.

The full list of nominees:
  • Bon Jovi (2nd Nomination, 9th Year Eligible)
  • Kate Bush (1st Nomination, 14th Year Eligible)
  • The Cars (3rd Nomination, 14th Year Eligible)
  • Depeche Mode (2nd Nomination, 11th Year Eligible)
  • Dire Straits (1st Nomination, 14th Year Eligible)
  • Eurythmics (1st Nomination, 11th Year Eligible)
  • J. Geils Band (4th Nomination, 22nd Year Eligible)
  • Judas Priest (1st Nomination, 18th Year Eligible)
  • LL Cool J (4th Nomination, 8th Year Eligible)
  • MC5 (3rd Nomination, 26th Year Eligible)
  • The Meters (4th Nomination, 23rd Year Eligible)
  • The Moody Blues (1st Nomination, 28th Year Eligible)
  • Radiohead (1st Nomination, 1st Year Eligible)
  • Rage Against the Machine (1st Nomination, 1st Year Eligible)
  • Rufus Featuring Chaka Khan (2nd Nomination, 18th Year Eligible)
  • Nina Simone (1st Nomination, 32nd Year Eligible)
  • Sister Rosetta Tharpe (1st Nomination, 3nd Year Eligible)
  • Link Wray (2nd Nomination, 32nd Year Eligible)
  • The Zombies (3rd Nomination, 28th Year Eligible)
For the groups, the following members are included:
  • Bon Jovi
    • David Bryan
    • Jon Bon Jovi
    • Richie Sambora
    • Alec John Such
    • Tico Torres.
  • The Cars
    • Elliot Easton 
    • Greg Hawkes 
    • David Robinson 
    • Ric Ocasek 
    • Benjamin Orr
  • Depeche Mode
    • Vince Clarke 
    • Andy Fletcher 
    • Dave Gahan 
    • Martin Gore 
    • Alan Wilder
  • Dire Straits
    • Alan Clark 
    • Guy Fletcher 
    • John Illsley 
    • David Knopfler 
    • Mark Knopfler 
    • Pick Withers
  • Eurythmics
    • Annie Lennox
    • David Stewart
  • J Geils Band
    • Stephen Jo Bladd 
    • Magic Dick 
    • J. Geils 
    • Seth Justman 
    • Danny Klein 
    • Peter Wolf
  • Judas Priest
    • Les Binks 
    • K. K. Downing 
    • Rob Halford 
    • Ian Hill 
    • Dave Holland 
    • Glenn Tipton 
    • Scott Travis
  • MC5
    • Michael Davis 
    • Wayne Kramer 
    • Fred “Sonic” Smith 
    • Dennis Thompson 
    • Rob Tyner
  • The Meters
    • Joseph Modeliste 
    • Art Neville 
    • Cyril Neville 
    • Leo Nocentelli 
    • George Porter Jr.
  • The Moody Blues
    • Graeme Edge 
    • Justin Hayward 
    • John Lodge 
    • Mike Pinder 
    • Ray Thomas
  • Radiohead
    • Colin Greenwood 
    • Jonny Greenwood 
    • Ed O'Brien 
    • Philip Selway 
    • Thom Yorke
  • Rage Against the Machine
    • Tim Commerford 
    • Tom Morello 
    • Zack de la Rocha 
    • Brad Wilk
  • Rufus Featuring Chaka Khan
    • Dennis Belfield 
    • Al Ciner 
    • Andre Fisher 
    • Chaka Khan 
    • Tony Maiden 
    • Kevin Murphy 
    • Ron Stockert 
    • Bobby Watson 
    • Willie Weeks 
    • David Wolinski
  • The Zombies
    • Rod Argent 
    • Paul Atkinson 
    • Colin Blunstone 
    • Hugh Grundy 
    • Chris White
Once again, the public is able to vote for their five favorites with the top vote getters each getting one vote in the final tally.  To vote, go to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame site