Skip to main content

George Michael's "Listen Without Prejudice" Gets Second Week at Number 1, 27 Years After the First

by VVN Music

On September 15, 1990, George Michael's second solo album, Listen Without Prejudice, Vol. 1, debuted at number 1 on the British Albums chart.

This week, just over 27 years and 1 month later, it returns to the top of the chart for a second week with a new edition of the album, which includes his MTV Unplugged performance.

This is also the 62nd week that the album has been in the British top 100 including twenty weeks in the top ten.

Another classic British album, The Queen is Dead by the Smiths, returns to the chart with a new, deluxe edition. It's position at number 10 is the highest the album has been since July 5, 1986 in its second week of release.  The album debuted at number 2 and, this week, is spending its third week overall in the top ten and 28th week in the top 100.

Remaining in the top ten is Liam Gallagher's As You Were which falls just 2 to 4 in its third week of release, and Robert Plant's Carry Fire, which falls 3 to 9 in its second.

Daryl Hall & John Oates debut at number 12 with Timeless Classics, their sixth hits set to reach the British charts and the second highest charting after 1991's Looking Back: The Best of Daryl Hall + John Oates which went to 9.

At 49 is the debut of 1977, the new box set for The Jam while Michael Head and his band the Red Elastic Band, open at 57 with Adios Senor Pussycat. That's just one short of his only other charting solo album, The Magical World of the Strands (2015 / #48).

Europe scores their sixth charting studio album in the U.K. with Walk the Earth which starts at 69.  They had three during their original heyday from 1986 to 1991, including their biggest, The Final Countdown (1986 / #9) and are now in their second run of charting sets which started with 2012's Bag of Bones.

Finally, the supergroup Sons of Apollo, with Mike Portnoy, Billy Sheehan, Derek Sherinian, Jeff Scott Solo and Ron "Bumblefoot" Thal, premier at 74 with their self titled debut.

Behind Michael is P!nk with Beautiful Trauma, Niall Horan and Flicker, Gallagher and Ed Sheeran's Divide.

On the Singles chart, it is once again "Rockstar" by Post Malone Featuring 21 Savage, "Havana" by Camilla Cabello Featuring Young Thug, "Silence" by Marshmello Featuring Khalid, Lonely Together by Avicii Featuring Rita Ora and Too Good at Goodbyes by Sam Smith.