Skip to main content

Chester Bennington Takes Vocalist, Iron Maiden Gets Live Band at the Loudwire Awards

by VVN Music

A number of veteran artists were sprinkled in with the more modern winners on Tuesday (October 24) night at the Loudwire Music Awards at the Novo in Los Angeles.

Modern acts Stone Sour took Hard Rock Artist of the Year and Hard Rock Album for Hydrograd while Avenged Sevenfold won Metal Artist and Metal Album for The Stage. I Prevail ("Alone") and Power Trip "Executioner’s Tax (Swing of the Axe)" walked away with Hard Rock and Metal Song of the Year.

Iron Maiden was honored with the Best Live Band crown while member Steve Harris won Best Bassist.

The late Chester Bennington won Best Vocalist. Lzzy Hale of Halestorm gave an impassioned speech for Bennington including a call to stop bullying.

Other veteran awards went to veteran artists Zakk Wylde (Guitarist), Tony Iommi (Courage), Sammy Hagar (Humanitarian) and Rob Halford (Lemmy Award).

The winners:
  • Hard Rock Artist Of The Year - Stone Sour
  • Metal Artist Of The Yea - Avenged Sevenfold
  • Hard Rock Album Of The Year - Hydrograd - Stone Sour
  • Metal Album Of The Year - The Stage - Avenged Sevenfold
  • Hard Rock Song Of The Year - "Alone" - I Prevail
  • Metal Song Of The Year - "Executioner’s Tax (Swing of the Axe)" - Power Trip
  • Best Live Band - Iron Maiden
  • Most Dedicated Fans - Babymetal
  • Breakthrough Band - Beartooth
  • Best New Artist - Greta Van Fleet
  • Best Vocalist - Chester Bennington (Linkin Park)
  • Best Guitarist - Zakk Wylde (Ozzy Osbourne/Black Label Society/Zakk Sabbath)
  • Best Drummer - Mario Duplantier (Gojira)
  • Best Bassist - Steve Harris (Iron Maiden)
  • The Courage Award - Tony Iommi (Black Sabbath)
  • The Lemmy Award - Rob Halford (Judas Priest)
  • Humanitarian Award - Sammy Hagar
Other performances by veteran artists: