Skip to main content

Set List: Stevie Wonder and Green Day at the Global Citizen Festival

by VVN Music

Concert goers at yesterday's Global Citizen Festival in New York's Central Park made it abundantly clear where they stand on Donald Trump's lambasting of NFL players going to their knee during the playing of the National Anthem.

After taking the stage, Stevie Wonder and his son Kwame Morris went to one knee and them both knees in support of the NFL players.  Wonder said "Tonight, I’m taking a knee for America, but not just one knee, I’m taking both knees. Both knees in prayer for our planet, our future, our leaders of the world and our globe."

The action drew a huge cheer from the crowd.

Wonder's set, which was longer than most other artists throughout the day, included special appearances by his son, Kwame, daughter, Aisha, for whom he wrote Isn't She Lovely, and singer/producer Pharrell Williams.
  • Master Blaster (Jammin') (from Hotter Than July, 1980)
  • Higher Ground (from Innervisions, 1973)
  • As If You Read My Mind (from Hotter Than July, 1980)
  • Signed, Sealed, Delivered I'm Yours (from Signed, Sealed & Delivered, 1970)
  • Overjoyed (from In Square Circle, 1985)
  • I Just Called to Say I Love You (from The Woman in Red soundtrack, 1984)
  • Don't You Worry 'bout a Thing (from Innervisions, 1973)
  • Living for the City (from Innervisions, 1973)
  • Isn't She Lovely (from Songs in the Key of Life, 1976)
  • Sir Duke (from Songs in the Key of Life, 1976)
  • You Are the Sunshine of My Life (abbreviated) (from Talking Book, 1972)
  • My Cherie Amour (from My Cherie Amour, 1969)
  • We Are the World (from USA For Africa's We Are the World, 1985)
  • Get Lucky (Daft Punk cover with Pharrell Williams)
  • Superstition (from Talking Book, 1972) (with Pharrell Williams)
  • Happy (Pharrell Williams cover with Williams)
  • Imagine (John Lennon cover)
  • Happy (reprise) (Pharrell Williams cover with Williams) (reprise)
  • I Wish (from Songs in the Key of Life, 1976)
Meanwhile, Green Day took the stage with six rockers and two of their rare slower numbers for an encore:

Main Set
  • Know Your Enemy (from 21st Century Breakdown, 2009)
  • Holiday (from American Idiot, 2004)
  • Boulevard of Broken Dreams (from American Idiot, 2004)
  • Basket Case (from Dookie, 1994)
  • Minority (from Warning, 2000)
  • American Idiot (from American Idiot, 2004)
  • Wake Me Up When September Ends (from American Idiot, 2004)
  • Good Riddance (Time of Your Life) (from Nimrod, 1997)