Skip to main content

Placebo Leads Crowd in Chant Against Margaret Court at Melbourne Show

by Paul Cashmere, Noise11

Placebo has sent a very blunt message to Margaret Court Arena’s namesake. "Margaret Court, fork you."

The former Australian tennis champion, now the manufacturer of her own church, outed herself as a homophobe with the public display of bigotry when she sent a letter to the editor of a West Australian newspaper recently to complain about the pro-Marriage Equality stance of Qantas. Court vowed never to fly Qantas again (with the disclaimer “unless she had to”).

The nasty letter from the bitter ex-tennis champ quickly became national news. Instead of apologising for meddling into other people’s personal lives she doubled down with the help on AM radio shock jocks eager for a ratings boost.

Calls to change the name of the venue have and will continue by while it is still called Margaret Court Arena the artists appearing there are determined to keep the protest going.

Sigur Ros also protested Court by issuing a special edition t-shirt for Marriage Equality exclusive to their Melbourne gig.

Brian Molko of Placebo lead fans in a chant of “Margaret Court, fork you” on Friday night in Melbourne.

Placebo set list, Melbourne, September 8, 2017

Main Set
  • Every You Every Me (from Without You I’m Nothing, 1998)
  • Pure Morning (from Without You I’m Nothing, 1998)
  • Loud Like Love (from Loud Like Love, 2013)
  • Jesus’ Son (single, 2016)
  • Soulmates (from Soulmates Never Die DVD, 2004)
  • Special Needs (from Sleeping With Ghosts, 2003)
  • Too Many Friends (from Loud Like Love, 2013)
  • Twenty Years (from Once More With Feeling: Singles 1996-2004)
  • I Know (from Placebo, 1996)
  • Devil in the Details (from Battle For The Sun, 2009)
  • Protect Me From What I Want (from Sleeping With Ghosts, 2003)
  • Without You I’m Nothing (David Bowie tribute) (from Without You I’m Nothing, 1998)
  • For What It’s Worth (from Battle For The Sun, 2009)
  • Slave to the Wage (from Black Market Music, 2000)
  • Special K (from Black Market Music, 2000)
  • Song to Say Goodbye (from Meds, 2006)
  • The Bitter End (from Sleeping With Ghosts, 2003)
  • Nancy Boy (from Placebo, 1996)
  • Infra-red (from Meds, 2006)
Encore 2
  • Running Up That Hill (A Deal with God) (Kate Bush cover)