Skip to main content

Eagles, Garth Brooks, Jimmy Buffett, Boz Scaggs Included on Dan Fogelberg Tribute Album

by Paul Cashmere, Noise11

Eagles and Garth Brooks are some of the acts paying tribute to Dan Fogelberg on A Tribute To Dan Fogelberg.

The album was produced by Dan’s wife, Jean Fogelberg; Norbert Putnam; his lifelong friend and manager, Irving Azoff, and Chuck Morris.

“A good thing never dies and that ‘good thing’ is Dan’s music,” Garth Brooks said in a statement. “As for me, my life has been a poor attempt to imitate the man. That man is Dan Fogelberg, and he will live forever in those of us who have let his gift bring so much light to our paths.”

Zac Brown, Vince Gill, Boz Scaggs, Jimmy Buffett and Train also contrinuted to the album. “Dan was one of the writers that influenced what I try to do, connect to people emotionally. He did it in a way that seemed effortless. Not many people get that gift. Dan did. Here’s to great influence on music and an inspiration to the future,” Pat Monaghan of Train said.

Dan Fogelberg died of prostate cancer in 2007.

A Tribute To Dan Fogelberg will be released on November 17, 2017.

The Track list:
  • Phoenix performed by Garth Brooks
  • Nether Lands performed by Donna Summer
  • Better Change performed by Michael McDonald
  • Longer performed by Amy Grant/Vince Gill
  • Same Old Lang Syne performed by Train
  • Don’t Lose Heart performed by Dobie Gray
  • Old Tennessee performed by Fool’s Gold/Denny Henson and Tom Kelly
  • As the Raven Flies performed by Casey James
  • Sutters Mill performed by Randy Owens
  • Run for the Roses performed by The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band with Richie Furay
  • Hard to Say performed by Boz Scaggs
  • Part of the Plan performed by Eagles
  • There’s a Place in the World for a Gambler performed by Jimmy Buffett
  • Leader of the Band performed by Zac Brown