Skip to main content

Singer-Songwriter Peter Case to Release "On the Way Downtown: Recorded Live at the Folkscene"

Peter Case has always been a pioneer. Genre-tripping through punk with the Nerves (“Hangin’ on the Telephone”), new wave/power pop with the Plimsouls (“A Million Miles Away”) and Americana with his Grammy-nominated, self-titled solo debut. It is a career that is still going strong over 40 years later on the strength of his exceptional songwriting.

On the Way Downtown: Recorded Live on FolkScene, due out October 27, 2017 on Omnivore Recordings, is a snapshot from nearly 20 years ago when Case sat still long enough for the airwaves to catch up to him.

This new album captures material from two live radio performances on the highly influential KPFK-FM Los Angeles syndicated radio program in 1998 and 2000. The first half features material from his then, newly released Full Service, No Waiting — an album New York magazine called “stunning.”The Full Service No Waiting set is a live full band performance featuring some of Peter’s great musical friends.

The latter half contains material from 2000’s Flying Saucer Blues, as well as songs from his earlier releases. Plus, some choice covers appear as well. Both intimate acoustic sets have remained unheard since their original broadcasts. The 2000 set features Peter with violinist extrodinaire David Perales.

In the liner notes, written by Case himself: “It felt like such an honor to play Howard and Roz Larman’s FolkScene. All the great people were on it, a Who’s Who of folk music. I’d loved the program for years. I listened in every week. Roz spun the coolest records, Howard deftly handled the interviews, and a key member of the team was Peter Cutler, their sound engineer. He tuned in great sound for each session. Live six-piece band with an hour soundcheck? No problem for Cutler.”
“I'm so happy these sessions are available now for all of us to hear. Thanks Allen Larman and thanks Omnivore. Now if I just knew why that photo of downtown L.A. from the early ’50s is on the back cover everything would be fine!”

While he continues to receive accolades for his recorded work (including 2015’s HWY 62), there is a very good reason he continues to pack venues when he plays live. On the Way Downtown: Recorded Live on FolkScene gives the listener a chance to experience his incredible gift of songwriting and performance.

Track Listing:
  • Spell of Wheels
  • On the Way Downtown
  • Let Me Fall
  • Green Blanket (Part 1)
  • Honey Child
  • Crooked Mile
  • Still Playin’
  • See Through Eyes
  • Until the Next Time
  • Something Happens
  • Pay Day
  • Blue Distance
  • Walking Home Late
  • Icewater
  • Beyond the Blues
  • Coulda Shoulda Woulda
  • Paradise Etc.
  • Leaving Home
Tour dates:
  • 09/14 - SAN DIEGO, CA - Grassroots Oasis
  • 09/15 - HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA - Don the Beachcomber
  • 09/16 - SANTA BARBARA, CA - Lobero Theater
  • 10/12 - HARRISBURG, PA - Note Bistro & Wine
  • 10/13 - BALTIMORE, MD - Club 603
  • 10/14 - NEW YORK, NY - Rockwood Music Hall
  • 10/15 - BOSTON, MA - Atwood’s Tavern
  • 10/17 - FALL RIVER, MA - Narrows Center for the Arts
  • 10/19 - COLUMBUS, OH - Natalie’s
  • 10/20 - LIVONIA, MI - Trinity House Theatre
  • 10/21 - CHICAGO, IL - FitzGerald’s
  • 10/22 - MADISON, WI - Kiki’s House of Righteous Music
  • 10/24 - CEDAR RAPIDS, IA - CSPS Hall
  • 10/26 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN - Lee’s Liquor Lounge
  • 10/27 - CHAMPAIGN, IL - Sandwich Life
  • 10/28 - ANN ARBOR, MI - Johnny’s Speakeasy
  • 10/29 - BUFFALO, NY - 9th Ward at Babeville
  • 11/09 - LITTLE ROCK, AR - White Water Tavern
  • 11/10 - TULSA, OK - Woody Guthrie Center
  • 11/11 - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK - Blue Door
  • 11/14 - HOUSTON, TX - Mucky Duck
  • 11/16 - FORT WORTH, TX - Fort Worth Live
  • 11/17 - AUSTIN, TX - Cactus Cafe