Skip to main content

Dan Wilson's New Album Includes His Versions of Songs He Wrote For Adele, Dixie Chicks, Taylor Swift and His Own Semisonic

On Friday (August 4), Dan Wilson released Re-Covered, a unique album that finds the Grammy-winning songwriter reinterpreting songs from his storied career that he wrote for and with other artists like Adele, Chris Stapleton, The Dixie Chicks and even his own band Semisonic. The album, which marks his third solo studio release, is now available for purchase and streaming via all major retailers.

In addition to the album, Wilson will release a deluxe edition hardcover book and CD that contains 56 pages of drawings, essays, lyrics, and songwriting observations. The book contains illustrations and stories by Wilson about each Re-Covered song, in addition to each song’s lyrics. This deluxe hardcover book/album will be released on August 25 and includes a physical CD.

The Associated Press reviewed the album and said, "Wilson proves his empathy, especially on 'Someone Like You' with backing from the Kronos Quartet, his versions conserve the originals’ intimacy with time healing some of the wounds."

The Los Angeles Times' Randall Roberts included Re-Covered in his California Sounds column and said, "Thought you were sick of 'Someone Like You'? Wilson’s version, which features the Kronos Quartet, illuminates it from a new perspective."

Since his days in seminal ‘90s rock band Semisonic, Wilson has been an in-demand songwriter, producer and arranger for some of the biggest acts in pop and rock music like Phantogram, Weezer, Preservation Hall Jazz Band, Halsey and My Morning Jacket. For his latest 13-track album, Wilson has taken songs he’s co-written with other artists and made them his own - his own arrangements, his voice, his guitar. The result is an eclectic spin on some of the biggest songs in pop music over the last 15 years as well as some gems that never quite made it big.

Most of the songs on the album were recorded live and mixed in an intensive week-long session at United Studios in Los Angeles, with longtime collaborators Mike Viola producing and Rock and Roll Hall of Famer Pete Thomas on drums. Wilson credits Thomas, best known for his decades of work with Elvis Costello, with being central to the crafting of the arrangements.

Wilson will tour in support of Re-Covered this fall, with additional tour dates to be announced in the coming months.

The track list along with the artist who originally recorded the song:
  • All Will Be Well (Gabe Dixon)
  • Home (Dierks Bentley)
  • You an I (John Legend)
  • Someone Like You ft. Kronos Quartet (Adele)
  • Never Meant To Love You (Cory Chisel)
  • Not Ready To Make Nice (Dixie Chicks)
  • Landing (Matt Wilson)
  • Treacherous (Taylor Swift)
  • Borrowed (LeAnn Rimes)
  • Your Misfortune (Mike Doughty)
  • When The Stars Come Out (Chris Stapleton)
  • If I Walk Away (Josh Groban)
  • Closing Time (Semisonic)
Upcoming tour dates:
  • 09/22 - St. Paul, MN - Fitzgerald Theater
  • 09/23 - Chicago, IL - City Winery
  • 09/27 - Boston, MA - City Winery
  • 09/28 - New York, NY - City Winery
  • 09/30 - Nashville, TN - City Winery
  • 10/20 - Los Angeles, CA - Troubadour
  • 10/21 - San Francisco, CA - Swedish American Music Hall