Skip to main content

Walter Trout Assembles and All-Star Blues Lineup For "We're All In This Together"

by VVN Music

Over the last 27 years, bluesman Walter Trout has averaged almost an album per year, including while he was battling liver disease and going through a transplant in 2013.

2017 is no different with the release of We're All in This Together, out September 13. It is his first studio album since 2015's Battle Scars although he had a live album last year and, according to Trout, it's a much lighter undertaking. "Battle Scars was such an intense piece of work, written with tears coming down my face. I needed a break from that, to do something fun and light-hearted. This album was joyous for me."

Trout has put together an amazing guest list for the album, including John Mayall, Charlie Musselwhite, Warren Haynes, Edgar Winter, Joe Bonamassa, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Robben Ford, Randy Bachman, Sonny Landreth, Eric Gales, Joe Louis Walker, Mike Zito, John Nemeth and his son, Jon Trout who said "It was very exciting to get to work in the studio with my father for the first time and his studio craft is inspiring to say the least. Thank you to him and everyone who gave me this opportunity."

Walter explained his sons transition to being a blues player. "We sat down with guitars in the kitchen and wrote that tune together. I think Jon has my musical DNA, and that’s understandable. He’s been hearing me play since he was in the womb. What’s really moving to me is that Jon played guitar from the time he was a little kid, but he liked different styles of music and never tried to play leads or blues. Then I got sick and he felt like he was going to lose me. He made the decision that he needed to carry this stuff on. And that’s when he dug in and began teaching himself how to solo."

Walter Trout started his career in the late 60's and early 70's, playing as a sideman for the likes of Percy Mayfield, John Lee Hooker and Joe Tex. He later joined Canned Heat in 1981 and John Mayall's Blues Breakers in 1985. Trout kicked off his solo career by forming his own band in 1989 and releasing Life in the Jungle and Prisoner of a Dream in 1990.

The track list:
  • Gonna Hurt Like Hell featuring Kenny Wayne Shepherd
  • Ain't Goin' Back featuring Sonny Landreth
  • The Other Side of The Pillow featuring Charlie Musselwhite
  • She Listens To The Blackbird Sing featuring Mike Zito
  • Mr. Davis featuring Robben Ford
  • The Sky Is Crying featuring Warren Haynes
  • Somebody Goin' Down featuring Eric Gales
  • She Steals My Heart Away featuring Edgar Winter
  • Crash And Burn featuring Joe Louis Walker
  • Too Much to Carry featuring John Nemeth
  • Do You Still See Me At All featuring Jon Trout
  • Got Nothin' Left featuring Randy Bachman
  • Blues For Jimmy T. featuring John Mayall
  • We're All In This Together featuring Joe Bonamassa