Skip to main content

The Flamin' Groovies Announce New Album "Fantastic Plastic"

by VVN Music

The Flamin' Groovies are back with an all-new album of high-energy pop-inflicted original songs, Fantastic Plastic.

Participating on the album are original member Cyril Jordan and longtime singer and guitarist Chris Wilson, playing together on an album for the first time in 38 years.

Produced by Jordan and Joel Jaffe (who also contributes guitar) mostly at Studio D in Sausalito, CA, and due Sept. 22, 2017 on the band’s own independent imprint Sonic Kicks Records and Severn Records (through MRI and RED Distribution), the collection features 10 fresh compositions co-written by Jordan and Wilson, plus covers of the Beau Brummels’ Don’t Talk to Strangers and NRBQ’s I Want You Bad.

The set reconvenes the driving forces of the Groovies’ storied Sire Records lineup, which cut the widely admired, warmly remembered magnum opus Shake Some Action (1976) and its follow-ups, Flamin’ Groovies Now (1978) and Jumpin’ in the Night (1979), which fused the band’s ‘60s-bred rock classicism with the new-look voltage of punk rock.
Jordan and Wilson parted company in 1980, and both men went on to enduring work as keepers of the rock ’n’ roll flame, the former with the Groovies and his successor act, Magic Christian, the latter with England’s Barracudas and his own solo albums. 
The two musicians were reunited in 2013 in London, Wilson’s home at the time, where Jordan and co-founding Groovies singer-guitarist Roy Loney played a show backed by Miriam Linna and the late Billy Miller of Brooklyn’s A-Bones with Ira Kaplan of Yo La Tengo.

Jordan recalls, “I was being interviewed by somebody while I was in Brooklyn, and I was asked if it would be OK, if Chris showed up, for him to come on stage. The idea hadn’t even occurred to me until that moment. I said, ‘Of course he would be welcome.’ When we went to London and I got to the gig, I stepped backstage and there he was. Both of us broke down and we hugged each other.

“After that, the word got out that Chris and I were back together, not really working and performing, but that we had made up, and offers started coming in. Before we knew it, we had a generous offer from Australia to play five shows with the Hoodoo Gurus. We called up a friend in Tokyo and added a few more shows. We got kickstarted, and we’ve been touring ever since.”
As a result of the regular dates, the Groovies would assemble in San Francisco for rehearsals. Jordan recalls, “The second time we got together, I said, ‘Let’s go to Sausalito, let’s do some recording. If we’re going to cut an album, let’s keep going like we were in the days with Sire, writing original material in the style that we’ve chosen.’ Every time we got together, we’d go in the studio and lay down two or three basic tracks, and then I would start overdubbing, and Chris would come down and we’d do vocals. It’s taken us almost three years to do the album — recording it that way, we had to wait until the next tour, and the guys would come into town and start up again.” 

Jordan and Wilson began writing together again without missing a beat. 

“It was 33 years that we hadn’t seen each other. We’re talking three decades,” says Jordan. “But when we got back together and I started showing him the musical ideas I had for [the new song] ‘End of the World,’ he immediately came up with the second verse. It was as if time and space hadn’t affected us. It was the same as it was back in 1979 when we were writing the songs for Jumpin’ in the Night. We went back and locked into that. It’s really amazing.”

Fantastic Plastic was recorded mainly with founding Groovies bassist George Alexander and the band’s latter-day drummer Victor Penalosa, with assistance from members of the Fabulous Thunderbirds. The instrumental I'd Rather Spend My Time With You was cut with bassist and noted producer-archivist Alec Palao and Tubes drummer Prairie Prince.

The track list:
  • What the Hell's Goin' On
  • End of the World
  • Don't Talk to Strangers
  • Let Me Rock
  • She Loves You
  • I Want You Bad
  • Crazy Macy
  • Lonely Hearts
  • Just Like a Hurricane
  • Fallen Star
  • I'd Rather Spend My Time With You
  • Cryin' Shame
The band will also be on tour starting August 22. 
  • U.S. East Coast
    • 08/22 - Worcester, MA - Ralph's Diner
    • 08/23 - New Haven, CT - Cafe Nine
    • 08/24 - Philadelphia, PA - Johnny Brenda's
    • 08/25 - Brooklyn, NY - Rough Trade
    • 08/26 - Washington, DC - Hill Country Live
  • Europe
    • 08/31 - Malmo, SW - Moriska Paviljongen
    • 09/02 - Roskilde, DK - Gutter City Festival
    • 09/04 - La Coruna, SP - Garufa Club
    • 09/06 - Aviles, SP - Niemayer
    • 09/07 - Bilbao, SP - Cafe Antzokia
    • 09/08 - Madrid, SP - Sala Caracol
    • 09/09 - Sait Boix, SP - Festival Altaveu
    • 09/12 - Toulouse, FR - onnexion
    • 09/14 - Paris, FR - La Maroquinerie
    • 09/15 - Nancy, FR - Chez Paulette          
    • 09/16 - Montbeliard, FR - Atelier Des Moles
    • 09/19 - Manchester, UK - Ruby Lounge
    • 09/20 - Bristol, UK - The Fleece
    • 09/21 - London, UK - Under the Bridge
    • 09/22 - Amsterdam, NL - Q-Factory
    • 09/23 - Groningen, NL - Vera
  • U.S. Midwest
    • 10/19 - Chicago, IL - S.P.A.C.E. in Evanston
    • 10/20 - Newport, KY - Southgate House Revival
    • 10/21 - Cleveland, OH - Beachland Ballroom 
    • 10/24 - Nashville, TN - Basement East
    • 10/25 - St. Louis, MO - Ready Room
    • 10/26 - Kansas City, MO - Knuckleheads