Skip to main content

The Earls of Leicester and Balsam Range Get Eight Bluegrass Awards Nominations

by VVN Music

Put together a group of veteran bluegrass artists, have them play the music of Lester Flatt, Earl Scruggs and the Foggy Mountain Boys, and you have a project that really racks up the awards nominations.

On Wednesday morning, the nominations were announced for the 2017 International Bluegrass Music Awards with The Earls of Leicester tying modern instrumental group Balsam Range for the most nominations at eight.

The Earls of Leicester, made up of Jerry Douglas, Shawn Camp, Barry Bales, Charlie Cushman, Jeff White and Johnny Warren are up for Entertainer of the Year, Instrumental Group, Song (The Train That Carried My Girl From Town), Album (Rattle & Roar), Instrumental Performance (Flint Hill Special) and instrumentalist nods for members Douglas (dobro), Camp (male vocalist) and Bales (bass).

Outside of The Earls of Leicester, Shawn Kemp is also nominated for Song of the Year for his recording of Mac Wiseman, Thomm Jutz and Peter Cooper's Going Back to Bristol along with Recorded Event of the Year for the same recording with Camp and the songwriters participating.

Other veteran artists also fared well. Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver are up for Entertainer and Vocal Group of the Year, Bobby Osborne is in the Album of the Year category for Original and Recorded Event for I've Gotta Get a Message to You. Blue Highway received nods for Vocal Group and Gospel Performance for Hallelujah and Sam Bush was nominated for Instrumental Performance for Greenbriar and Recorded Event for Steamboat Whistle Blues.

Along with the Song of the Year nomination, Mac Wiseman is nominated against himself in the Recorded Event category for Going Back to Bristol with a long list of artists and 'Tis Sweet to Be Remembered with Alison Krauss.

Ian Tyson also has a surprise nomination for his song Someday Soon as recorded by Darin & Brooke Aldridge. Tyson wrote the song 53 years ago and it was a minor hit for Judy Collins in 1969.

Numerous veterans are also nominated in the instrumentalist categories.

Being inducted into the Hall of Fame are:
  • Hazel Dickens and Alice Gerrard who recorded a series of albums from 1965 to 1975 pioneering female artists in the bluegrass field. Dickens was the wife of Pete Seeger. 
  • Bobby Hicks who Bill Monroe called "the truest fiddler he had ever heard". He was a member of Monroe's Bluegrass Boys along with Porter Wagoner, Judy Lynn and Ricky Skaggs. 
  • Roland White who is a master of the mandolin and a member of the Blue Grass Boys, the Kentucky Colonels, Nashville Grass, Country Gazette and the Nashville Bluegrass Band. 
The awards, hosted by Bela Fleck and Abigail Washburn, will be held on September 28 in Raleigh, NC.

The nominations:

Entertainer of the Year
  • Balsam Range
  • Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
  • The Earls of Leicester
  • Flatt Lonesome
  • The Gibson Brothers
Vocal Group of the Year
  • Balsam Range
  • Blue Highway
  • Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
  • Flatt Lonesome
  • The Gibson Brothers
Instrumental Group of the Year
  • Balsam Range
  • The Earls of Leicester
  • Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen
  • Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper
  • Punch Brothers
Song of the Year
  • Blue Collar Dreams - Balsam Range (artist), Aaron Bibelhauser (writer)
  • Going Back to Bristol - Shawn Camp (artist), Mac Wiseman/Thomm Jutz/Peter Cooper (writers)
  • I Am a Drifter - Volume Five (artist), Donna Ulisse/Marc Rossi (writers)
  • Someday Soon - Darin & Brooke Aldridge (artist), Ian Tyson (writer)
  • The Train That Carried My Girl from Town - The Earls of Leicester (artist), Frank Hutchison (writer)
Album of the Year
  • Fiddler’s Dream - Michael Cleveland (artist), Jeff White and Michael Cleveland (producers)
  • In the Ground - The Gibson Brothers (artist), Eric Gibson, Leigh Gibson and Mike Barber (producers)
  • Mountain Voodoo - Balsam Range (artist), Balsam Range (producer)
  • Original - Bobby Osborne (artist), Alison Brown (producer)
  • Rattle & Roar - The Earls of Leicester (artist), Jerry Douglas (producer)
Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year
  • Give Me Jesus - Larry Cordle (artist), Traditional/Larry Cordle (writer), Larry Cordle (producer)
  • Hallelujah - Blue Highway (artist), Public Domain arranged by Blue Highway (writer), Blue Highway (producer)
  • I Found a Church Today - The Gibson Brothers (artist), Eric Gibson/Leigh Gibson (writers), Eric Gibson, Leigh Gibson and Mike Barber (producers)
  • Sacred Memories - Joe Mullins & The Radio Ramblers with Ricky Skaggs and Sharon White Skaggs (artist), Dolly Parton (writer), Joe Mullins (producer)
  • Wish You Were Here - Balsam Range (artist), James Stover/Michael Williams (writers), Balsam Range (producer)
Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year
  • Fiddler’s Dream - Michael Cleveland (artist), Arthur Smith (writer), Jeff White and Michael Cleveland (producers)
  • Great Waterton - Kristin Scott Benson (artist), Kristin Scott Benson (writer), Kristin Scott Benson (producer)
  • Greenbrier - Sam Bush (artist), Sam Bush/Scott Vestal (writers)
  • Little Liza Jane - Adam Steffey (artist), Tommy Duncan/James Robert Wills (writersAdam Steffey (producer)
  • Flint Hill Special - The Earls of Leicester (artist), Earl Scruggs (writer), Jerry Douglas (producer)
Emerging Artist
  • Front Country
  • The Lonely Heartstring Band
  • Molly Tuttle
  • Sister Sadie
  • Volume Five
Recorded Event of the Year
  • East Virginia Blues - Ricky Wasson and Dan Tyminski (artists), Rickey Wasson (producer)
  • Going Back to Bristol - Shawn Camp with Mac Wiseman, Peter Cooper, Thomm Jutz (artists), Peter Cooper and Thomm Jutz (producers)
  • I’ve Gotta Get a Message to You - Bobby Osborne with Sierra Hull, Alison Brown, Rob Ickes, Stuart Duncan, Trey Hensley, Todd Phillips, Kenny Malone, Claire Lynch and Bryan McDowell (artists), Alison Brown (producer)
  • Steamboat Whistle Blues - Michael Cleveland featuring Sam Bush (artists), Jeff White and Michael Cleveland (producers)
  • ’Tis Sweet to Be Remembered - Mac Wiseman and Alison Krauss (artists), Peter Cooper and Thomm Jutz (producers)
Male Vocalist of the Year
  • Shawn Camp
  • Eric Gibson
  • Leigh Gibson
  • Buddy Melton
  • Russell Moore
Female Vocalist of the Year
  • Brooke Aldridge
  • Dale Ann Bradley
  • Sierra Hull
  • Amanda Smith
  • Molly Tuttle
Banjo Player of the Year
  • Ned Luberecki
  • Joe Mullins
  • Noam Pikelny
  • Kristin Scott Benson
  • Sammy Shelor
Bass Player of the Year
  • Barry Bales
  • Alan Bartram
  • Mike Bub
  • Missy Raines
  • Tim Surrett
Fiddle Player of the Year
  • Becky Buller
  • Jason Carter
  • Michael Cleveland
  • Stuart Duncan
  • Patrick McAvinue
  • Ron Stewart
Dobro Player of the Year
  • Jerry Douglas
  • Andy Hall
  • Rob Ickes
  • Phil Leadbetter
  • Josh Swift
Guitar Player of the Year
  • Jim Hurst
  • Kenny Smith
  • Bryan Sutton
  • Molly Tuttle
  • Josh Williams
Mandolin Player of the Year
  • Jesse Brock
  • Sam Bush
  • Sierra Hull
  • Frank Solivan
  • Adam Steffey
Hall of Fame Inductees
  • Hazel Dickens and Alice Gerrard
  • Bobby Hicks
  • Roland White
Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients
  • Norman Blake
  • Fletcher Bright
  • Silver Dollar City
  • Louisa Branscomb