Skip to main content

Huey Lewis and the News Releasing 3-CD Career Retrospective

by VVN Music

A lot of people forget just how big Huey Lewis and the News were in the 80's.

The band was formed in 1978 by members of San Francisco bay area groups Clover and Soundhole. Originally called Huey Lewis and the American Express, they changed their name to the News at the instance of Chrysalis Records when they signed in 1979.

Their first album, 1980's Huey Lewis and the News, did not chart but their second, 1982's Picture This went to number 13 on the strength of the hit Do You Believe in Love (1982 / #7) and set the band up for the rest of the 80's when they would have two number 1 albums (Sports (1982), Fore! (1986)) and eleven more top ten hits including the number 1's The Power of Love (1985), Stuck With You (1986) and Jacob's Ladder (1987).

Huey Lewis and the News will release a three-CD compilation of music from throughout their career on August 29 with Collected; however, it will only be available in the Netherlands for a short time. The band's website says that "It will be available on Amazon worldwide soon after."

Discs 1 and 2 travel through the band's nine studio albums and two soundtracks to which they contributed.

Disc 3 is full of rarities from pre-Huey Lewis and the News bands, Lewis solo, dance versions, remixes and other rarities.

The track list:

Disc 1
  • Huey Lewis and the News (1980)
    • Some Of My Lies Are True (Sooner Or Later)
    • Now Here's You (Single Version)
    • Stop Trying 
    • Trouble In Paradise
  • Picture This (1982)
    • Do You Believe In Love
    • Hope You Love Me Like You Say You Do
    • Workin’ For A Livin’ 
  • Single (1982)
    • Tattoo (Giving It All Up For Love) 
  • Sports (1983)
    • Heart And Soul (Single Edit)
    • I Want A New Drug (Single Edit) 
    • The Heart Of Rock & Roll (Single Edit)
    • If This Is It 
    • Walking On A Thin Line (Single Edit)
    • Bad Is Bad 
  • Back to the Future sountrack (1985)
    • The Power Of Love 
    • Back In Time (Jellybean Single Mix)
  • Fore! (1986)
    • Stuck With You 
    • Hip To Be Square
    • Jacob's Ladder (Single Version)
    • I Know What I Like (Single Version)
Disc 2
  • Fore! (1986)
    • Simple As That 
    • Doing It All For My Baby 
  • Small World (1988)
    • Perfect World 
    • Small World (Single Version) 
    • Give Me The Keys (And I'll Drive You Crazy) (Single Edit)
    • World To Me 
    • Walking With The Kid 
  • Hard to Play (1991)
    • Couple Days Off (Short Edit)
    • It Hit Me Like A Hammer (Sax Single Remix) 
    • He Don't Know 
  • Four Chords & Several Years Ago (1994)
    • (She's) Some Kind Of Wonderful 
    • But It's Alright 
    • Little Bitty Pretty One 
  • Time Flies...The Best Of (1996)
    • 100 Years From Now 
  • Plan B (2001)
    • We're Not Here For A Long Time (We're Here For A Good Time) 
    • Let Her Go And Start Over (Radio Edit)
    • I'm Not In Love Yet (with Wynonna Judd) 
  • Pineapple Express Soundtrack (2008)
    • Pineapple Express 
  • Soulsville (2010)
    • Respect Yourself 
    • Just The One (I've Been Looking For)
Disc 3
  • Clover
    • Streets Of London 
    • Ain't Nobody Own Nobody's Soul 
  • American Express
    • Exodisco
    • Kick Back
  • Huey Lewis & the News rarities
    • Trouble In Paradise (Live)
    • Flip Flop & Fly
  • Huey Lewis
    • Oh! Darling 
    • Once Upon A Time In New York City 
    • Feelin’ Alright 
    • Lonely Teardrops
  • Strokeland Superband ft. Huey Lewis
    • Work With Me 
  • Brenda Lee & Huey Lewis
    • Oh! Happy Day
  • Frankie Miller & Huey Lewis
    • Way Past Midnight 
  • Dance and Remixes
    • I Want A New Drug (Extended Version/Dance Mix)
    • Heart And Soul (Jellybean Remix)