Skip to main content

Steve Winwood to Release His First Ever Live Album

by VVN Music

Steve Winwood has gone to his large archive of live shows to select some of his best performances for the new album Winwood: Greatest Hits Live.

The 23-track double-CD/4-LP release will be out on September 1 via Wincraft Records and includes songs for throughout Winwood's career with the Spencer David Group, Traffic, Blind Faith and his solo years. Each is given a contemporary interpretation channeling R&B, Jazz, Funk, Folk, Classic Rock, Pop, and Afro-Caribbean & Brazilian rhythms with Steve on both his Hammond B3 Organ and guitar.

Steve said "I'm excited about the release because I have recorded every show for many years and so it evoked many memories of the performances and reactions from the fans over the years who have supported me.I suppose it is sort of a tribute to the band members and crew I've been fortunate to have with me on the road. The songs were chosen for being the ones most recognized throughout my career which have left an impression and so I hope the record will be a souvenir that brings to mind happy memories of a good time experienced at one of my shows."

Winwood, named one of the 'Greatest Singers Of All Time' by Rolling Stone Magazine, is a recipient of the Ivor Novello Outstanding Song Collection, the BMI Icon Award, the Musicians Union Classic Rock Award, the Nashville Symphony Harmony Award and has been nominated for 11 Grammys, winning two. Steve has received Honorary Doctorate degrees in Music from Berklee College of Music, Aston University in Birmingham, England; and from The University of Gloucestershire. In 2004, Traffic was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and the following year, he was honored for his "enduring influence on generations of music makers" by BMI. In 2002, he had the distinct honor of performing at The Golden Jubilee of Elizabeth II at Buckingham Palace, a concert marking her 50 years as queen; he also performed for President Obama at the 2013 Kennedy Center Honors in Washington, D.C. On June 5th 2014, he was inducted into the Walk of Fame in Nashville, TN.

The track list with Winwood band/solo:

Disc 1
  • I'm A Man (Spencer Davis Group)
  • Them Changes (Eric Clapton & Steve Winwood)
  • Fly (Solo)
  • Can't Find My Way Home (Blind Faith)
  • Had To Cry Today (Blind Faith)
  • Low Spark of High Heeled Boys (Traffic)
  • Empty Pages (Traffic)
  • Back In The High Life Again (Solo)
  • Higher Love (Solo)
  • Dear Mr Fantasy (Traffic)
  • Gimme Some Lovin' (Spencer Davis Group)
Disc 2
  • Rainmaker (Traffic)
  • Pearly Queen (Traffic)
  • Glad (Traffic)
  • Why Can't We Live Together (Solo)
  • 40,000 Headmen (Traffic)
  • Walking In The Wind (Traffic)
  • Medicated Goo (Traffic)
  • John Barleycorn (Traffic)
  • While You See A Chance (Solo)
  • Arc Of A Diver (Solo)
  • Freedom Overspill (Solo)
  • Roll With It (Solo)