Neil Young to Put Out Unreleased Album From 1976

by Paul Cashmere, Noise11

Long forgotten unreleased Neil Young songs from a 10 day session in 1976 will finally be released as the album Hitchhiker.

Young recorded the songs from Hitchhiker live and in one take on August 11, 1976 with producer David Briggs in Malibu. Many of the songs from Hitchhiker were released on Young albums over the next five years although the title track was saved until 2010 when it first appeared on Le Noise.

Two of the songs, Hawaii and Give Me Strength, will be released for the first time.

The track list:
  • Pocahontas (released on Rust Never Sleeps, 1979)
  • Powderfinger (released on Rust Never Sleeps, 1979)
  • Captain Kennedy (released on Hawks and Doves, 1980)
  • Hawaii (unreleased)
  • Give Me Strength (unreleased)
  • Ride My Llama (released on Rust Never Sleeps, 1979)
  • Hitchhiker (released on Le Noise, 2010)
  • Campaigner (released on Decade, 1977)
  • Human Highway (released on Comes A Time, 1978)
  • The Old Country Waltz (released on American Stars N Bars, 1977)

While there is no official word yet, the rumor mill says that the album will be out on August 4 via Reprise. 

No comments

Powered by Blogger.