Alex Chilton's "A Man Called Destruction" Being Expanded

by VVN Music

On August 25, Ominvore Recordings will release a brand new, expanded version of Alex Chilton's 1995 album A Man Called Destruction.

Chilton had a long legacy in a number of bands starting with the Box Tops where he was lead singer on such songs as The Letter, Cry Like a Baby and Soul Deep and followed in the 70's with the critically acclaimed by often overlooked Big Star. Between 1979 and his death in 2010, Chilton released eight solo albums.

A Man Called Destruction was divided evenly between Chilton originals and covers of songs like Lies, You Don't Have to Go and The New Girl in School. When it was released, the Orlando Sentinel said "Plenty of bands attempt, however feebly, to reproduce Big Star's melancholic power-pop. But nobody else would dare try to approximate the brilliant, offhand weirdness and subtle irony of Chilton's later solo work. Teenage Fan Club might be able to imitate Big Star's guitar sound on September Gurls, but they couldn't transmogrify Volare the way Chilton did on 1987's High Priest. Destruction is very much in the tradition of High Priest — a peculiar mélange of deliriously cheesy pop."

The new edition includes seven previously unreleased tracks along with new liner notes by Bob Mehr. The album will be released for the first time on vinyl with the first pressing in translucent blue with an extra LP of the bonus tracks and a download card.

The track list:
  • Original Album
    • Sick And Tired
    • Devil Girl
    • Lies
    • It’s Your Funeral
    • What’s Your Sign Girl
    • Il Ribelle
    • You Don’t Have To Go
    • Boplexity
    • New Girl In School
    • You’re Lookin’ Good
    • Don’t Know Anymore
    • Don’t Stop 
  • Previously Unissued Bonus Tracks
    • Devil Girl (Double-Track Vocal)
    • Don’t Know Anymore (Rough Mix)
    • Give It To Me Baby (Take 3)
    • You’re My Favorite
    • (I Don’t Know Why) But I Do
    • Please Pass Me My Walkin’ Shoes
    • Why Should I Care/It’s Your Funeral

No comments

Powered by Blogger.