Simpson Leads Americana Music Award Nominations; Prine Up For Artist, Crowell & Drive-By Truckers For Album

by VVN Music

It was a big afternoon for country star Sturgill Simpson as he picked up three nominations, out of six categories, at the American Music Awards.

Simpson is up for Artist of the Year, Album for A Sailor's Guide to Earth and Song for All About You.

Among veteran artists, the Drive-By Truckers picked up two nominations for Album of the Year (American Band) and Duo/Group while Rodney Crowell also received two for Album (Close Ties) and Song (It Ain't Over Yet).

Single nominations went to John Prine (Artist of the Year), Billy Bragg & Joe Henry (Duo/Group), Marty Stuart & His Fabulous Superlatives (Duo/Group), Ryan Adams (Song for To Be Without You) and Charlie Sexton (Instrumentalist).

The 16th annual Americana Honors & Awards Show will be on September 13 at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville.

The nominees:

Album of the Year

  • American Band - Drive-By Truckers
  • A Sailor's Guide to Earth - Sturgill Simpson
  • Close Ties - Rodney Crowell 
  • Freedom Highway - Rhiannon Giddens
  • The Navigator - Hurray for the Riff Raff
Artist of the Year
  • Jason Isbell
  • John Prine
  • Lori McKenna
  • Margo Price
  • Sturgill Simpson
Duo/Group of the Year
  • Billy Bragg & Joe Henry
  • Drive-By Truckers
  • Marty Stuart & His Fabulous Superlatives
  • The Lumineers
Emerging Artist of the Year
  • Aaron Lee Tasjan
  • Amanda Shires
  • Brent Cobb
  • Sam Outlaw
Song of the Year
  • All Around You - Sturgill Simpson (Written by Sturgill Simpson)
  • It Ain't Over Yet -Rodney Crowell (feat. Rosanne Cash & John Paul White) (Written by Rodney Crowell)
  • To Be Without You -Ryan Adams (Written by Ryan Adams)
  • Wreck You -Lori McKenna (Written by Lori McKenna and Felix McTeigue)
Instrumentalist of the Year
  • Spencer Cullum Jr.
  • Jen Gunderman
  • Courtney Hartman
  • Charlie Sexton

No comments

Powered by Blogger.