Set List: U2 Opens Their "The Joshua Tree Tour 2017" With a Full Album Performance and a Few Gems

by VVN Music

It was definitely a night of early U2 music when the band opened "The Joshua Tree Tour 2017" on Friday night at BC Place Stadium in Vancouver, BC.

The entire main set took the crowd through the band's third (War), fourth The Unforgettable Fire) and fifth (The Joshua Tree) albums, in chronological order, with two songs each from War and Fire followed by a complete album performance of The Joshua Tree.

For Encore 1, the band jumped forward to 2000 for two from All That You Can't Leave Behind before jumping back for two from their seventh album, Achtung Baby.

Finally, the band finished the night with Miss Sarajevo from their Passengers side-project and the only new song and only song from the last seventeen years, The Little Things That Got Away, a song that has been mentioned for the set list of the upcoming Songs of Experience.

The set list:

Main Set
  • Sunday Bloody Sunday (from War, 1983)
  • New Year's Day (from War, 1983)
  • A Sort of Homecoming (from The Unforgettable Fire, 1984)
  • MLK (from The Unforgettable Fire, 1984)
  • Pride (In the Name of Love) (from The Unforgettable Fire, 1984)
  • Where the Streets Have No Name (from The Joshua Tree, 1987)
  • I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For (from The Joshua Tree, 1987)
  • With or Without You (from The Joshua Tree, 1987)
  • Bullet in Blue Sky (from The Joshua Tree, 1987)
  • Running to Stand Still (from The Joshua Tree, 1987)
  • Red Hill Mining Town (from The Joshua Tree, 1987)
  • In God's Country (from The Joshua Tree, 1987)
  • Trip Through Your Wares (from The Joshua Tree, 1987)
  • One Tree Hill (from The Joshua Tree, 1987)
  • Exit (from The Joshua Tree, 1987)
  • Mothers of the Disappeared (from The Joshua Tree, 1987)
Encore 1
  • Beautiful Day (from All That You Can't Leave Behind, 2000)
  • Elevation (from All That You Can't Leave Behind, 2000)
  • Ultraviolet (Light My Way) (from Achtung Baby, 1991)
  • One (Light My Way) (from Achtung Baby, 1991)
Encore 2
  • Miss Sarajevo (from Passengers' (U2 and Brian Eno) Original Soundtracks 1, 1995)
  • The Little Things That Got Away (New, Possible track for Songs of Experience)
There were just a couple of changes to the set list on night 2, Sunday (May 14) at Centurylink Field in Seattle.  MLK was replaced by Bad, also from The Unforgettable Fire.  They also added a 23rd song to the set at the end of the second encore, ending with I Will Follow from the 1980 album Boy

The band was also joined for the song Mothers of the Disappeared by Eddie Vedder and Mumford and Sons. 

No comments

Powered by Blogger.