Rhino Celebrating the Summer of Love With New Compilations From the Grateful Dead, Monkees, More

by VVN Music

We are about the enter the fiftieth anniversary of The Summer of Love, the legendary period when over 100,000 "flower children" (or, as the media called them, "hippies") converged on San Francisco, especially the Height-Ashbury area, spreading a message of peace and love (and fueling it with copious amounts of drugs).

The phenomenon was repeated in cities around the world but the main focus was the Bay Area of California where authorities seemed helpless to stop the influx of people.

Music was, of course, a big part of that summer and the folks at Rhino are releasing a new series of albums under the Summer of Love name with the first sets coming out in July from the Grateful Dead, the Monkees, a single album of classic songs from the summer of 1967 and a two-LP compilation of west coast rarities from the period.

Up first, on July 11, is the new single CD, single-LP collection Grateful Dead: Smiling on a Sunny Day, bringing together tracks from the early part of their career.
  • Side One
    • The Golden Road (To Unlimited Devotion)
    • Cream Puff War
    • Morning Dew
    • That’s It For The Other One
    • Born Cross-Eyed
  • Side Two
    • Dark Star
    • St. Stephen
    • China Cat Sunflower
    • Doin’ That Rag
    • Cosmic Charlie
Also out on that day are new vinyl editions of The Best of Peter, Paul & Mary: Ten Years Together, Love's debut album in mono, Insight Out by the Association, Groovin' by the Young Rascals and Triangle by the Beau Brummels.

On July 18, it's The Monkees: Summer of Love which concentrates on the band's lesser known psychedelic side.
  • Side One
    • Pleasant Valley Sunday
    • She
    • Porpoise Song (Single Version)
    • Words
    • Star Collector
    • Birth Of An Accidental Hipster
  • Side Two
    • Take A Giant Step
    • Love Is Only Sleeping
    • Randy Scouse Git
    • Tapioca Tundra
    • Saturday’s Child
    • For Pete’s Sake
The hits from the summer of 1967 will also be highlighted on Getting Together: Groovy Sounds From the Summer of Love.
  • Side One
    • Groovin’ – The Young Rascals
    • Windy – The Association
    • The 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin’ Groovy) – Harper’s Bizarre
    • Bowling Green – The Everly Brothers
    • The Windows Of The World – Dionne Warwick
    • Next Plane To London – The Rose Garden
    • Carrie-Anne – The Hollies
    • It’s A Happening World – The Tokens
  • Side Two
    • Pleasant Valley Sunday – The Monkees
    • Sit Down, I Think I Love You – The Mojo Men
    • Transparent Day – The West Coast Pop Experimental Band
    • C’mon Marianne – The 4 Seasons featuring the “sound” of Frankie Valli
    • Hip Hug-Her – Booker T. & The M.G.’s
    • Gettin’ Together – Tommy James & The Shondells
    • I Had Too Much To Dream (Last Night) – The Electric Prunes
    • You Keep Me Hanging On – Vanilla Fudge
Also out on July 18 are vinyl editions of Arlo Guthrie's Alice's Restaurant in mono, the Electric Prune's debut on purple vinyl, Van Morrison's Astral Weeks and Vanilla Fudge's debut on white vinyl.

Finally, on July 25, it's the two-LP Transparent Days: West Coast Nuggets with thirty tracks pressed on clear vinyl.
  • Side One
    • Transparent Day – The West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band
    • Time Is After You – The Peanut Butter Conspiracy
    • Linda’s Gone – The West Coast Branch
    • I Could Be Happy – The Dovers
    • My Race Is Run – The Motleys
    • The Happiness Song – Gerry Pond
    • Here’s Today – The Rose Garden
    • Bye Bye Bye (Warner Bros. Single Version) – The Tikis
  • Side Two
    • Make It Easy – The Collectors
    • I’ll Sell My Soul – The Allies
    • Goin’ Down – The Waphphle
    • Out Of Sight Out Of Mind – Limey & The Yanks
    • Where You Gonna Go – Art Guy
    • Got Love – The Front Line
    • She’s My Baby – The Mojo Men
    • Going Home – Butch Engle & The Styx
  • Side Three
    • Pandora’s Golden Heebie Jeebies – The Association
    • If You Could Be Him Instead – Wayne Stewart
    • Candlestickmaker – Ron Elliott
    • Smiling – M.C. 2
    • Momentarily Gone – The Truth
    • Degeneration Gap – Tandyn Almer
    • Baby Please Don’t Go – The Ballroom
  • Side Four
    • Come Alive – Things To Come
    • House Of Glass – The Glass Family
    • The Eagle Never Hunts The Fly – The Bonniwell Music Machine
    • Dawn Lights The Way – Clear Light
    • Shadows – The Electric Prunes
    • Changes (Tygstl) – The Ceyleib People
    • Your Mind & We Belong Together – Love
Vinyl releases for May 25 are Dusty in Memphis by Dusty Springfield, Goodbye and Hello by Tim Buckley, Aretha Arrives by Aretha Franklin (mono), Wildflowers by Judy Collins (yellow vinyl) and The Zodiac's Cosmic Sounds (glow in the dark vinyl). 

No comments

Powered by Blogger.