Randy Newman to Release First New Studio Album in Nine Years

by Paul Cashmere, Noise11

Randy Newman has gathered up his first collection of new songs in nine years for Dark Matter, coming in August.

“I’m proud of the record,” Newman said in a statement. “I think it’s entertaining—I hope it’s entertaining—and that’s eighty percent of what I try to do. Also, I’m doing something different than I’ve ever done before. It’s a step forward for me. And considering how long I’ve been doing this, I’m kinda proud of that.”

Dark Matter’ was recorded in Los Angeles with Mitchell Froom, Lenny Waronker, and David Boucher.

“If there is anything consistent about the songs, there is often more than one voice, in the big ones, and it’s different for me, a difficult thing to bring off, to make it comprehensible,” Randy says. “I think it works. They cover more ground than most songs do and portray a number of different characters. Audiences are smart. They’ll understand the songs. I hope they like them as well.”

Randy Newman Dark Matter will be released on August 4, 2017.

The track list:
  • The Great Debate
  • Brothers
  • Putin
  • Lost Without You
  • Sonny Boy
  • It’s a Jungle out There (V2)
  • She Chose Me
  • On the Beach
  • Wandering Boy
Produced by Mitchell Froom, Lenny Waronker and David Boucher

Recorded and mixed by David Boucher
  • Randy Newman – piano/vocals
  • Matt Chamberlain – drums
  • David Piltch – bass
  • Blake Mills – guitar
  • Mitchell Froom – additional keyboards

No comments

Powered by Blogger.