The Rolling Stones Win Album of the Year, Blues Artist at Britain's Jazz FM Awards

by VVN Music

There are a LOT of music award shows in Britain. Not only are there major ones like the Brits and the Ivor Novellos, but it seems like most magazines and broadcast stations put on some sort of awards ceremonies.

Very few, though, salute jazz music which is why the Jazz FM Awards, given out last night (April 25) at the Shoreditch Town Hall in London, are bit of a breath of fresh air. Artists like Donny McCaslin, Norma Winstone and Nikki Yeoh were given their due but that was a bit overshadowed this year by two awards that were presented to the Rolling Stones.

The Stones' album, Blue and Lonesome, brought them accolades in not only the Blues music categories (Blues Artist of the Year) but, in a public vote, they also took overall Album of the Year.

Plus, longtime Stones drummer Charlie Watts was presented with The Gold Award, recognizing his contribution to jazz and blues music. Outside of the Stones, Watts has recorded numerous jazz-based albums including his latest, Recorded Live at the Danish Radio Concert Hall, which was released last Friday.

Other special awards went to Damien Chazelle, director of Whiplash and La La Land, who received the Impact Award and Georgie Fame, the R&B and jazz singer whose hits including Yeh Yeh (1964 / #21 U.S. / #1 U.K.) and The Ballad of Bonnie & Clyde (1967 / #7 U.S. / #1 U.K.), who was honored with the PPL Lifetime Achievement Award.

The full list of winners:
  • Breakthrough Act of the Year - ​Yussef Kamaal                                                                     
  • International Jazz Artist of the Year - Donny McCaslin                                                                  
  • Vocalist of the Year - Norma Winstone                                                          
  • Instrumentalist of the Year - Nikki Yeoh                                                                                             
  • Blues Artist of the Year - Rolling Stones
  • Soul Artist of the Year - Laura Mvula                                                                                         
  • Jazz Innovation of the Year - Jaimeo Brown                                                                                                    
  • Digital Initiative of the Year - Gilles Peterson (Worldwide FM)                                 
  • Album of the Year (public vote) - Blue & Lonesome - Rolling Stones
  • UK Jazz Act of the Year (public vote) - ​Shabaka Hutchings
  • Live Experience of the Year (public vote) - The Bobby Hutcherson Songbook - Orphy Robinson All Stars
  • Ppl Lifetime Achievement Award - Georgie Fame 
  • Impact Award - Damien Chazelle 
  • The Gold Award - Charlie Watts

No comments

Powered by Blogger.