Natalie Merchant to Combine Catalog, New Tracks & Rarities in 10-CD Set

by VVN Music

Natalie Merchant is going to sum up her solo career, to date, with a new 10-CD box set.

The Natalie Merchant Collection, coming from Nonesuch on June 23, collects her seven studio albums and adds a new set, Butterfly, and a disc of rarities.

Merchant started her musical career while still in college with the band 10,000 Maniacs. After twelve years as their lead singer, she struck out on her own with the 1995 album Tigerlily and the hits Carnival, Wonder and Jealousy.

Since then, she has released six more albums with some very interesting projects including the covers album The House Carpenter's Daughter, Leave Your Sleep which included songs based on 19th and 20th century poetry about childhood, and Paradise is There, a reimagining of her Tigerlily album.

All of those are included on the collection along with Rainbow, a new set with four originals and six reinterpretations of songs from her catalog arranged for string quartet.

The track list:
  • Butterfly 
  • She Devi
  • Baby Mine
  • Frozen Charlotte
  • Ophelia
  • The Worst Thing
  • The Man in the Wilderness
  • My Skin
  • Vain and Careless 
  • Andalucia

The tenth disc of the set collects rarities that were never included on other Merchant albums that ranges from the Kinks' The Village Green Preservation Society to the traditional The Lowlands of Holland.
  • The Village Green Preservation Society (Ray Davies)
  • Too Long at the Fair (Joel Zoss)
  • Order 1081 (David Byrne) 
  • To Love Is to Bury (Mike Timmins & Margo Timmins)
  • Saint Judas
  • Birds & Ships (Woody Guthrie)
  • The Lowlands of Holland (Traditional arr. Paddy Maloney) 
  • Sonnet 73 (William Shakespeare arr. Natalie Merchant) 
  • Learning the Game (Buddy Holly)
  • My Little Sweet Baby (Traditional) 
  • Political Science (Randy Newman) 
  • Build a Levee 
  • Sit Down Sister (Traditional) 
  • The Gulf of Araby (Katell Keineg) 
  • Portofino
Also in the set is a 100-page lyric book that also includes archival photos.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.