Details Emerge on Deluxe Version of Prince's "Purple Rain"

by Paul Cashmere, Noise11

The Prince signature album Purple Rain is about to undergo the expansion treatment.

According to Warner Music:

The two-CD Purple Rain Deluxe set includes the official 2015 Paisley Park Remaster of the original tapes from the soundtrack, presenting an unheard vision of the album overseen by Prince himself. The From The Vault & Unreleased disc boasts eleven gems unearthed from the heart of Prince’s storied vault. Beyond Electric Intercourse, the tracklist features much sought-after rarities such as 1984’s Our Destiny / Roadhouse Garden, the 1983 instrumental Father’s Song and more.

Six tracks that have never been released or distributed in the collector or bootleg community include: Possessed – the ’83 Prince solo version, never heard before; Electric Intercourse - the studio version not known to exist before it was discovered at Paisley Park; Father’s Song – a full, five plus minute version that prior to this fans could only find a minute and half snippet of in the movie; We Can Fuck – a track that has never circulated as the full, 10 minute version with these lyrics; and Katrina’s Paper Dolls – a finished master of the song, which has previously only circulated as a demo. Additionally, all of the material is taken from the source and mastered by Bernie Grundman, the mastering engineer who worked on the original album.

In addition to the Original Album (2015 Paisley Park Remaster) and From The Vault & Unreleased, the Purple Rain Deluxe – Expanded Edition presents a third disc of Single Edits & B-Sides, as well as the concert DVD Prince And The Revolution Live at the Carrier Dome, Syracuse, NY, March 30, 1985. With audio and video restored from the original production master tape, it offers an exclusive vignette into the passion and power of Prince’s legendary live performances during one of the artist’s most celebrated eras.

The DNA of Purple Rain can be felt throughout pop culture at large. It is a timeless body of work with an immortal resonance exemplified by smashes such as Let’s Go Crazy, When Doves Cry, Darling Nikki, the title track Purple Rain and more. 1984’s Purple Rain remains a high watermark for Prince, changing the worlds of film and music. In its initial run, the theatrical musical generated over $220 million worldwide at the box office against an estimated $7.2 million budget, while receiving the Academy Award® for “Best Original Song Score.” Minted Diamond by the RIAA for sales exceeding 13 million, the record stands out as the sixth best-selling soundtrack album in history, moving more than 22 million copies. Hailed by Vanity Fair as “the best soundtrack of all time,” Time Magazine placed it as the 15th greatest album ever. The album won two 1985 GRAMMY Awards® in the categories of “Best Rock Vocal Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal” and “Best Album of Original Score Written for a Motion Picture or Television Special.” Posthumously, it was honored as “Favorite Soundtrack” at the 2016 American Music Awards. It was also recently nominated for a 2017 Billboard Music Award in the category of “Top Soundtrack/Cast Album.”


Disc One (Original Album (2015 Paisley Park Remaster))
  • Let’s Go Crazy
  • Take Me With U
  • The Beautiful Ones
  • Computer Blue
  • Darling Nikki
  • When Doves Cry
  • I Would Die 4 U
  • Baby I’m A Star
  • Purple Rain
Disc Two (From The Vault & Previously Unreleased)
  • The Dance Electric
  • Love And Sex
  • Computer Blue (“Hallway Speech” version)
  • Electric Intercourse (studio)
  • Our Destiny / Roadhouse Garden
  • Possessed (1983 version)
  • Wonderful Ass
  • Velvet Kitty Cat
  • Katrina’s Paper Dolls
  • We Can Fuck
  • Father’s Song


Includes Disc One and Disc Two as Listed Above

Disc Three (Single Edits & B-Sides)
  • When Doves Cry (edit)
  • 17 Days
  • Let’s Go Crazy (edit)
  • Let’s Go Crazy (Special Dance Mix)
  • Erotic City
  • Erotic City (“Make Love Not War Erotic City Come Alive”)
  • Purple Rain (edit)
  • God
  • God (Love Theme From Purple Rain)
  • Another Lonely Christmas
  • Another Lonely Christmas (extended version)
  • I Would Die 4 U (edit)
  • I Would Die 4 U (extended version)
  • Baby I’m A Star (edit)
  • Take Me With U (edit)
DVD (Prince And The Revolution, Live at the Carrier Dome, Syracuse, NY, March 30, 1985)
  • Let’s Go Crazy
  • Delirious
  • 1999
  • Little Red Corvette
  • Take Me With U
  • Do Me, Baby
  • Irresistible Bitch
  • Possessed
  • How Come U Don’t Call Me Anymore?
  • Let’s Pretend We’re Married
  • International Lover
  • God
  • Computer Blue
  • Darling Nikki
  • The Beautiful Ones
  • When Doves Cry
  • I Would Die 4 U
  • Baby I’m A Star
  • Purple Rain

No comments

Powered by Blogger.