Yusuf (aka Cat Stevens) to Tour Australia

by Paul Cashmere, Noise11

Cat Stevens, aka Yusuf, will return to Australia in November for "A Cat’s Attic Peace Train Tour" to celebrate the 50th anniversary of his first hit Matthew & Son.

Steven Demetre Georgiou became Cat Stevens for his first records. His debut album, Matthew & Son, in 1967 was a Top 10 album in the UK and delivered his first hit song with the title track.

By the start of the 1970s, Cat Stevens developed to become one of the greatest songwriters of the decade starting with Lady D’Arbanville, a song about his former girlfriend Patti D’Arbanville, the actress discovered by Andy Warhol who cast her in his movie Flesh when she was 16 years old.

That same year Cat Stevens released Tea For The Tillerman, still an all-time classic. That album featured many of what became his classics Wild World, Where Do The Children Play and Father and Son.

Stevens then had a run of globally successful albums. The next record, Teaser and the Firecat, featured Moonshadow, Peace Train and Morning Has Broken.

The sixth album, Catch Bull At Four, spent six weeks at number one in the USA.

Cat Stevens' Australian dates:
  • 11/22 - Perth - Perth Arena
  • 11/25 - Adelaide - Botanic Park
  • 11/27 - Melbourne - Rod Laver Arena
  • 12/02 - Hunter Valley - Roche Estate
  • 12/04 - Sydney - Qudos Arena1
  • 12/09 - Brisbane - Entertainment Centre

No comments

Powered by Blogger.